Windows 7 and Flash Player

Reaction score
I'm new to Windows and I bought a hp 62-144DX notebook. I tried to install Flash Player, but was informed that it can only work on a 32-bit system!! I tried to download Firefox and Chrome, but was warned by Norton not to do so. What can I do now in order to view streaming videos? The sales guy at Best Buy was told that watching videos was quite important to me. :mad:

Reaction score
Hmmm. I have a freind who uses teamspeak and it did not support 64 bit, but the 32 bit version ran fine. Norton will always warn you when installing new software whether it is safe or not. Let me get back to you on this.

found this: http://www.sevenforums.com/browsers-mail/1879-flash-player-64bit-ie.html

it looks like the best recommendation is installing a 32 biut version of IE, Chrome, Firefox, Opera, etc.

Last edited:
Reaction score
You have the option of running a 32 bit browser on your 64 bit OS. By using Internet Explorer 32 bit, it will take the 32 bit Flash Player.

Go to All Programs in the Start menu....... it will list IE Explorer 64, and IE Explorer. The one with "64" obviously is the 64 bit browser, the other one is 32. Select the 32 bit browser and install your Flash Player and you're in business.

Reaction score
Thanks Dallas and Charlis. However, the 32-bit IE cannot connect to the internet!! Also, I tried to download Firefox and Chrome, but was warned by my Norton program not to use it as I was among the first to try it and its reliability was not established. Norton recommended that I remove those browswers.

Reaction score
Thanks Dallas and Charlis. However, the 32-bit IE cannot connect to the internet!! Also, I tried to download Firefox and Chrome, but was warned by my Norton program not to use it as I was among the first to try it and its reliability was not established. Norton recommended that I remove those browswers.