SOLVED Windows 7 x64 freeze - Possible Solution - ASUS mobo

Reaction score
Hello everyone,

First post here since I have browsed through the whole net to find a solution to my problem. Im not a PC expert I tend to play video games mostly but I tend to have some knowledge about computers and have some close friends that know more than me in the OS's.

First of all I would like to say that this exact problem occured to me long time ago when I downloaded a Windows 7 OS from a torrent. back then I thought that its common for the OS to be buggy and doing these things so I switched back to windows xp. Back then I also had a gfx card that supported dx11 and the only reason that I wanted back then to install Windows 7 was the dx11 support for next gen games.

1 week ago or so bioshock 2 came out so I was happy that finally I could see dx11 in a video game. I went on to buy a legit copy of Windows 7 since I wanted to get over the problem it used to have with the downloaded version.

Now onto the problem. First of all back then we also tried several things to my computer now we are 99% sure its probably a driver problem. After reading some posts I might do some tweaking on the BIOS.

About my specs/drivers.
Im using a intel core duo 2.66ghz with geil ram running at 1066 mhz, also ATi Radeon 5870 with the latest drivers, using a razer deathadder mouse along with a microsoft reclusa keyboard. also using a logitech g25 steering wheel, and 2 external drives through usb. so all my usb ports are occupied. i also got a corsair 650watt supply.

Right now Im at work and will try to attach any files you might want from the events or something else ( please explain to me how to do these things when u ask em because im no expert ). oh we also did a memtest so ram's fine.