Windows 7 gets stuck just before start up

Reaction score
My laptop does not start. I have a Dell PC which has Windows 7 Installed on it. I have a Windows 7 repair disk (which worked previously couple of months back). I have one drive i.e no partition. I am not an expert user. I have followed following steps:
Option 1
1. Switch Power on
2. I get a message “Windows failed to start. A recent hardware or software change might be the cause. Select
A. Launch start-up repair (recommended) OR
B. Start Windows normally
3. I chose Launch start-up repair
4. I get the message “Windows is loading file”
5. Get the bar “Microsoft corporation”
6. The Windows loads but I get into a screen where I just have a cursor – nothing to click on. It stays like this for hours nothing happens
Option 2
1. Switch Power on
2. Press F12 (Boot Options)
3. Get Boot Menu
4. Select “CD/DVD/CD-RW Drive” – which has the repair disk
5. I get the message “Press any key to boot with CD....”
6. I press a button
7. I get a scrren “Choose anoperating system to start or TAb to select a tool”
A. Windows Setup [EMS Enabled]
i. To specify an advanced option for this choice press F8
B. Windows Memory Diagnostic
8. I press F8
9. I see a message “Windows is Loading files”
10. Now I get several options
A. Safe mode
B. Safe Mode with networking
C. Last Known Good Configuration
11. I select Safe mode, Last Known Good Configuration etc
12. The Windows loads but I get into a screen where I just have a cursor – nothing to click on. It stays like this for hours nothing happens

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Just to clarify, One drive still contains a partition. You may have 1 drive all in a single partition although from what you said it sounds more likely you also have a hidden recovery partition that just never gets assigned a drive letter.