Windows 7 32/64 Bit or XP SP3

Reaction score
Hi All,

I am a newbie of this forum. I would appreciate if you guys can help me out setup my new PC.

My PC Configuration is

AMD Phenom ii X2 560 Processor
Gigabyte 880GM-UD2H Motherboard,
Ram: 4 GB DDR3 1333 BUS
HDD 500GB
AGP 1 GB ATI RADEON HD 4250 (Builtin)
Monitor: Samsung B2230 (21.5' LCD)

I have been using Windows XP Service pack 3 on my old computer which were a dual core intel 2.4 ghz with 512 mb ram.

I want a suggestion from you people, Shall i move to WIndows 7 32 bit or 64 bit or install XP SP 3 on my new PC?

I will basically work on Graphics Design,Web Design, Video Editing & Desktop Publishing Task.

Which Operating system will be better for higher perfromanc with my configuration of PC?

Thanks in advance for co-operation

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
Welcome to the forums :D

With a PC like that you'd need to go with Windows 7 x64 to make the most of it, as you wouldn't be able to address the full amount of memory on XP/W7 32-bit.

IMO, it's a hands down winner for Windows 7 x64. It doesn't make much sense to have a great system like that and then stick a 10 year old operating system on it ;).

We're on hand to help with any questions or queries you have about W7, so you'll have plenty of support installing and configuring it :).

Reaction score
Hey lan,

Thanks for the reply. I have already installed Windows 7 Professional 32 Bit on my new pc. I have found that the Usable ram is 2.75 GB despite 4 GB.My AGP card (ATI Radeon HD 4250) is integrated to the motherboard. Is it the issue or 32 bit is the issue?

Can i switch to 64 bit windows seven without losing the C drive data and installed application?

I have confusion regarding availability of application for 64 bit.Can i install 32 bit enable application on 64 bit windows?

Thanks a ton again for your co-operation

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score