SOLVED %UserName%\AppData\Local\Temp.at 100MB odd size, what causes?

Reaction score
Evening all.

I have a rather confounding issue.

Several times a day i hear my hard disk activity peaking. My AV reports there are virii in C:\Users\%UserName%\AppData\Local\Temp.

The folders that contain the virii are named after rar and/or zip archives on the "infected" PC, such as;

Temp1_aports.rar\aports.exe
Temp1_ProduKey.rar\Key.exe

Now, i know this is not a virus causing this. Processmonitor from systeminternals shows that System.exe is doing this. My guess is Symantec Endpoint Protection 12 is triggering it.

Does anyone know which setting i can change to stop it doing this?
I'm new to SEP; i used Symantec Anti-Virus Corporate in XP and vista. I onyl upgraded to SEP 12 because i HAD to, with windows 7.

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
I had a "system.exe" file sneek into my Window folder. It was causing all sorts of problems.

I would boot into Safe Mode and delete those two files you listed plus do a search for the system.exe file and delete it too.

You may very well have a virus if your hard drive is peaking a lot. That's a sign something is scanning your files and perhaps uploading them to.

I would do an online AV scan also to be sure you have eliminated all the viruses on your system.

Then get rid of Symantec and install AVIRA instead. You can get a free three month key for it from AVIRA's website.

Reaction score
Yea, just in case i used bitdefenders' QuickScan online and it scans online processes.
Since System.exe is running all the time and actually is an officail part of Windows 7, it was able to verify wether it was the original unmodified microsoft version or a virus infected version of the file.

The scan resulted in 0 infections found, i'll do another couple soon.

Reaction score
I think i found the culprit;

Control Panel > Folder Options > Search Tab > "When Searching Non Indexed Locations"