Unable to Zip a file

SOLVED Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by nevica, Jun 14, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello,

    I cannot zip a file with command:

    send to - compressed folder.

    The error message I get is:

    File not found or no read permission

    I have no su set-up.

    Nevica
     
    nevica, Jun 14, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    Hi Nevica,

    Are you using a limited user account ? You can also use a free tool called 7 Zip which is very easy to use. Try it from the link below.

    http://www.7-zip.org/
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried 7Zip and I also get the same error message when I try to zip.

    No, I have checked and I am the administrator.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
    nevica, Jun 15, 2011
    #3
  4. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    If you go to start > control panel > user accounts > under you user name it will tell you whether you are an administrator ( full access to computer files) or a limited user ( restricted access to computer files).

    Are you using this computer at home or work?
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #4
  5. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    Also check the file attributes of the file you are trying to compress.

    To do this Right Click the file > and uncheck read only . now try it
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #5
  6. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    Nevica , when you are posting a reply always reply with a new post don't edit the post otherwise it may look like i have posted irrelevant posts. It also will confuse other members who try to help you .I'm referring to the post above where you asked me how to know whether you are the administrator and then you edited it saying " No, I have checked and I am the administrator " Thank you
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #6
  7. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, I am the administrator. I am using my home computer at home and the file in question is not locked for read only.
     
    nevica, Jun 15, 2011
    #7
  8. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    File management attributes are attached.
     

    Attached Files:

    nevica, Jun 15, 2011
    #8
  9. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    Try changing the file extension from .dmp to something like .txt and compress. If it successfully compresses after you extract the file to the desired destination change the file extension back to .dmp
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #9
  10. nevica

    Firefox264

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AUSTRALIA
    Also do a windows update it could be a bug
     
    Firefox264, Jun 15, 2011
    #10
  11. nevica

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,273
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The file is located in the windows directory which is protected (by default though it can be changed) as part of the operating system so you cannot create the .zip file there. It's possible to tell it to store the output to a different location but probably easiest for you would be to copy the dmp file to your documents folder and then zip it there.
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
    TrainableMan, Jun 15, 2011
    #11
  12. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried changing the extension but it will still not compress.

    Tried a windows update but still no luck.

    Nevica
     
    nevica, Jun 15, 2011
    #12
  13. nevica

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,273
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Changing the extension shouldn't have any effect and the odds of a system problem that happens to be corrected with a windows update at the very time you encounter it are likely astronomical.

    As I said, it is likely the location of the file, more precisely the intended location of the zip that is the problem; you either don't have authorization to write to there (most likely reason) or the file is in use (it's possible, try rebooting and see if the problem persists) or there isn't enough HD space (highly improbable).

    So, as I mentioned above, either direct the zip output to another location, like your documents folder, or copy the dmp file to the documents folder and try zipping it there.
     
    TrainableMan, Jun 15, 2011
    #13
    nevica likes this.
  14. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    That worked. The next thing I need to sort out are my BSODs. I understand that the resident expert on BSOD is not around at the moment. Is this correct?

    Nevica
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2011
    nevica, Jun 15, 2011
    #14
  15. nevica

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,273
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Yeah, we hope Cybercore is just on vacation because he is missed. The usual BSOD causes are drivers that aren't up to date but he can often read the DMP files and say exactly which ones. You might also check for BIOS updates for your mobo. And try the full power option in power settings.
     
    TrainableMan, Jun 16, 2011
    #15
  16. nevica

    davehc VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Denmark
    Off thread, but, I,ve been trying to track down Cybercore, as I come in contact on other forums. His most used forum also has no idea why he suddenly vanished. I think four weeks (or more) is a very generous work vacation!

    Hey CYBER. RESPOND????
     
    davehc, Jun 16, 2011
    #16
  17. nevica

    nevica

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2011
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can anyone tell me why my minidump file has a lock attached to it. I find it incredibly fiddly and inconsistent when I want to compress dump files.

    I have tried many thing like changing attributes by unchecking read attributes and haven'y found a way to easily compress minidump files.

    Nevica
     
    nevica, Jul 25, 2011
    #17
  18. nevica

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,273
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Location:
    PA, USA
    They are in a system folder which is protected. First copy them to your documents library, then zip them there. The copy shouldn't be protected.
     
    TrainableMan, Jul 25, 2011
    #18
  19. nevica

    Elmer BeFuddled Resident eejit VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2010
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    251
    Location:
    Durham UK
    The only true way to easily zip .dmp files is as TM has said, "copy, paste, zip."
     
    Elmer BeFuddled, Jul 25, 2011
    #19
  20. nevica

    davehc VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,958
    Likes Received:
    502
    Location:
    Denmark
    I would suggest, Nevica, that if you are about to post regarding bsods, that you start a new thread. This one is over a month old and the title will not attract our (new) bsod expert
     
    davehc, Jul 25, 2011
    #20
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.