Speech recognition

Reaction score
I am new to Windows 7 and Speech Recognition. So far, I have not been able to find a Users' Manual or similar (The various instructions and guidelines provided are helpful but quite limited, I find)

Example: How do I open Wordpad, then open an existing wordpad file (likely an .rtf)? I have only succeeded once (with a file called 'Letter to Ned'). Trying to open the same file an hour later by successfully opening Wordpad, then saying 'Open Letter to Ned', SR responded by simply writing 'open letter to ned' on the screen, (i.e. showing it recognised the words) but did not open the file. I am using the Microsoft LifeChat LX 300 headset which by and large worked fine during the SR test tutorial

My ambition is to be able to open Wordpad anytime, then open an ongoing log/diary file dictate my item, then close it, and carry on with what I was doing.

I would really appreciate hearing from SR users who have been at it a bit longer than I
Thanks,
Frederick

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Open any search engine and type
"windows 7" "speech recognition" tutorial

You will find youtube videos etc.

THIS Microsoft page also came up in my results.

I don't use speech recognition myself but, there seems to be a wealth of info out there.

Reaction score
I am not one to recommend speech recognition. I have tried it in the past and find remembering the commands laborious compared to simpoly swinging my mouse to a spot and clicking, or using my keyboard. I also find it very difficult to dictate rather than type as editing is easier for me the old fashioned way.

MTM

Reaction score
I am new to Windows 7 and Speech Recognition. So far, I have not been able to find a Users' Manual or similar (The various instructions and guidelines provided are helpful but quite limited,
For this reason we wrote a short article "Getting Started with Windows Speech Recognition."