Program wants to run as admin. I need it to run as user.

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by Silvermistshadow, Oct 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Silvermistshadow

    Silvermistshadow

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Besides which it shouldn't need to, considering it's on D:\ and thus all directories in there are user-created and don't need admin permission to modify (which is what this program does, as an updater for another one on the same drive). At this time it is more difficult to use admin permission for reasons I won't explain, but is there a way to force a program to run without elevation if it requests elevation? I can work a command line, so don't be afraid to use it.
     
    Silvermistshadow, Oct 1, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Silvermistshadow

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,132
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I would suggest you try setting the modify & write permissions on D:/ for users/everyone if that is what you want; by default they do NOT have modify or write.
     
    TrainableMan, Oct 1, 2011
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Silvermistshadow

    Silvermistshadow

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2010
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    I could do that, but that would require admin access as well. Any chance I could get it done this week, since the admin is in California right now?

    Otherwise I guess I could always go with that method.
     
    Silvermistshadow, Oct 6, 2011
    #3
  4. Silvermistshadow

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,132
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You have two choices, run as an admin or have an admin change the permissions.

    What you are asking for would completely go against the entire point of user security; if any non-admin could just turn it off when they don't like it then there wouldn't really be any security.
     
    TrainableMan, Oct 6, 2011
    #4
  5. Silvermistshadow

    John700

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2017
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    If the program itself is told to require admin rights to run, you can change the owner of the executables itself, it doesn't matter, cause the requirement is inside the file. Not the properties of a file, or even a directory.
     
    John700, Jun 18, 2017
    #5
  6. Silvermistshadow

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,132
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    John, please check the dates of the posts. This thread is 6 years old. As a general rule we usually don't post to threads that have been inactive 6 months.
     
    TrainableMan, Jun 19, 2017
    #6
    1. Advertisements

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.