No audio

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by AAY, Mar 1, 2010.

  1. AAY

    AAY

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a relatively new computer (November 2009) that came already with Windows 7 installed (original version therefore).

    For a while I've been having problems with audio off and on. Usually it would be enough to restart the computer, but now nothing helps. When I try to increase the volume, the programme (volume control thingy at the bottom right) freezes... if I go into control panel, trying to open the 'sound' option there, it also freezes.

    What can I do? Please help me!

    Thank you very much in advance.
     
    AAY, Mar 1, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. AAY

    MSbwood

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Hello AAY,

    What brand of computer is this? And is it a laptop or desktop?

    Bryan W
    MS Architect Evangelist
     
    MSbwood, Mar 1, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. AAY

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    AAY, welcome to the fourms! I had a problem with my original Windows 7 install, the problem was preventing me from backing up my system. I contacted HP, with no positive results. So I decided to reinstall Windows 7 through the recovery program that was provided with the PC. It took less than an hour, and afterwards, the system worked fine. Sometimes, the factory install isn't done right, it's rushed and not tested throughly before leaving the factory. I guess if it starts up, everything's fine. That would be my suggestion for you. It doesn't take long, and you don't have to babysit the process. Not knowing the make of your computer, I don't know which key at startup to begin the process, but with HP, it's F11. Hope this helps, and should you require further assistance, post back.
     
    catilley1092, Mar 1, 2010
    #3
    AAY and clifford_cooley like this.
  4. AAY

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    1,192
    clifford_cooley, Mar 1, 2010
    #4
    AAY and catilley1092 like this.
  5. AAY

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Thanks Clifford, that is very useful information. There's some that doesn't care for these partitions, but I'm glad they are built in to the system.
     
    catilley1092, Mar 1, 2010
    #5
  6. AAY

    AAY

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    My computer is a laptop a DELL Studio 1557.

    Finally last night, my brother was able to help me and resolve the issue by first disabling and then enabling the sound drivers again.

    I'm working for a humanitarian organization in Darfur, Sudan... so I became a bit desperate because skype is my lifeline! But obviously there is nobody around here who can help! I'm already amazed that they have fast enough internet connections to be able to use skype! This is my fifth year abroad like this and the first year with internet faster than 56.6kbps... (remember that?).

    But you're right about the installation, I also can't do the backup. If I use an external harddrive it just doesn't recognize it as such, though when I use it for other things there is no problem.

    So I will follow your recommendation and reinstall Windows7 on the weekend when I have some time! Will I need to reinstall all the programs (such as skype) afterwards? What about my data?

    Thanks so much for your help!
    Anne-Marie
     
    AAY, Mar 2, 2010
    #6
  7. AAY

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    AAY, it looks like you're in for a reinstall. Being that you can't backup, you will have to reinstall your programs manually. Do you mean that you can use your external drive on the same computer that you're referring to? If you can still use your computer with no other issues, you can run it until a solution is found. I don't want to see you losing your data if you can help it. Can you backup to DVD's?
     
    catilley1092, Mar 2, 2010
    #7
  8. AAY

    MSbwood

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Redmond, WA
    Something else worth trying is to disable all running programs w/exception of Skype. you can do this by following the guide at this link: https://www.w7forums.com/disable-startup-applications-t2825.html

    I had a similar issue previously with some of the built in programs. Give it a shot since it is a lot easier than a reformat.
     
    MSbwood, Mar 2, 2010
    #8
    catilley1092 and clifford_cooley like this.
  9. AAY

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    5,031
    Likes Received:
    1,192
    Thanks MSbwood for using links on this forum. :)
     
    clifford_cooley, Mar 2, 2010
    #9
  10. AAY

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Likes Received:
    569
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Very useful information, MSbwood! That's a lot easier than using third party applications for this purpose. Thanks.
     
    catilley1092, Mar 2, 2010
    #10
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. Brookeville

    HDMI Audio - Can't Enable Mobo HDMI audio

    Brookeville, Jul 12, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    3,762
    Thrax
    Jul 12, 2010
  2. rachaelG
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,200
    bassfisher6522
    Oct 30, 2011
  3. wildchild1954

    SOLVED Failure configuring Windows updates, now no internet

    wildchild1954, Feb 14, 2016, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    812
    wildchild1954
    Jan 15, 2017
  4. roy huntington

    SOLVED No email

    roy huntington, Jun 9, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    584
    roy huntington
    Jun 9, 2016
  5. shreyaskudav

    No audio device working

    shreyaskudav, Jul 7, 2016, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    588
    TrainableMan
    Jul 11, 2016
  6. Erez
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    856
  7. Adleano

    Mapping Network drive shows no subfolders

    Adleano, Oct 25, 2016, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    375
    Adleano
    Oct 25, 2016
  8. Keith W Jones

    SOLVED No Operating System Asus Motherboard P8P67

    Keith W Jones, Oct 25, 2016, in forum: Drivers
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    649
    Keith W Jones
    Oct 27, 2016
Loading...