Networking

Reaction score
I have 2 computers running window 7 home premium 64 bit and one running Windows XP, they are all networked through a wireless dlink router. All machines use ZoneAlarm Internet Suite which is configured for the network and all IP addresses.
I cannot always access the windows 7 machines, from one to the other. "Windows cannot access (computer name)" or "do not have permission". All permission and sharing settings are configured. Sometimes it works and sometimes it does not. I don't understand what the problem is? Any help is well appreciated.

Reaction score
Sounds like a firewall issue. Try disabling firewall for awhile as a test to confirm issue. I've heard that Zone Alarm doesn't play nice with 7, all though I have no personal knowledge of that. If that is the case get rid of ZA and use MSE.

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
ZoneAlarm used to be a very good product, but now it's become quite a nuisance. I have several friends who have had issues with it in Windows 7.

Nero Burning ROM is the same way, used to be a great program, now it's nothing but bloatware.

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score
I remember recently that someone on this very forum had to reinstall over getting rid of Nero. It used to be a paid program, if my memory serves me correctly. But now, the suite is available from File Hippo, in the same category as ImgBurn. However, I have ImgBurn, and can say that it's a fine piece of software.

BTW, Zone Alarm is freely available on the same site as Nero. I love security, but the default Windows Firewall has served me well over the years, and I just don't see the need to configure a firewall, when the one that I have works just fine. I'll never understand what kicked off the sales of them to begin with. Your AV & malware protection should take care of any threat that comes your way.

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
Reaction score