Longtime XP Pro user migrating to Windows 7

catilley1092

Win 7/Linux Mint Lover
Reaction score
Since 2002, I've been a loyal XP Pro user. I will still keep my laptops with XP Pro until the wheels fall off. But I knew the day was coming, I bypassed Vista, tried Linux Ubuntu (too hard for me to comprehend). Today, I took a major step forward and ordered a new all in one HP PC with Windows 7 Home Premium (64 bit). It will be a week before it's here, but I'm anxious to get it. Being that I've never used this OS, I decided to join a forum for advice, as I know that I'll need it. But I already have a couple of questions. Is Windows 7 real hard to learn? I hope it's not like Linux. And I'm not bashing Linux, a lot of users really tried to help me, but it wasn't for me. I had no problem moving from Windows 2000 Pro to XP Pro.( I still dual boot between the two). But will skipping Vista hurt me? I never wanted it because I didn't see the need to fix what wasn't broken, and everyone who I knew who used Vista trashed it. They all complained and some even downgraded to XP Pro to escape it. But back to the point, technology moves forward, and so must I. I don't want too many versions of Windows to pass by and I won't even know how to use a PC again. XP will only be here for a few more years, and the support for Win 2K Pro ends next year. I want to remain a Windows user and wanted a PC instead of laptops, and the prices are really good, so I'm moving forward. Hopefully, this forum will be a home for me to learn. And one more question. Will this 64 bit be any different than the 32 bit laptop that I'm now using? My laptop and the new PC both has 2GB RAM. Thanks to everyone who is taking the time to read my post, and I look forward to being here many years.

Last edited:

Veedaz

~
Reaction score
Hi catilley1092 and a warm welcome to Windows 7 Forums :)