Downgarding from 64 to 32bit?

Discussion in 'Installation, Setup and Updates' started by Joybringer, Sep 12, 2010.

  1. Joybringer

    Joybringer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi

    Having 'upgraded' to 64bit a few months ago, I'm fed up with the lack of support (Sony) in getting 64bit drivers (video etc) and want to go back to 32bit.

    A numpty question, perhaps, but how do I achieve this?

    Is is a complete wipe and reinstall from scratch? Or can I replace the OS and keep everything else intact?

    Any advice appreciated!

    Thanks



    Oops! Forgot to mention I have the Home Premium upgrade version.
    JB
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
    Joybringer, Sep 12, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertisements

  2. Joybringer

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Likes Received:
    1,306
    Location:
    Planet X
    Your video card is probably either nVidia or Radeon so you can get the drivers from there.

    You'll have to do a clean install and start over if you want to retrograde to 32-bit. Reinstall all the software, drivers, etc.

    What exactly is the issue with the 64-bit? Be more specific and we may find the solution for you.
     
    Nibiru2012, Sep 12, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertisements

  3. Joybringer

    Joybringer

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi - thanks for the reply.

    It is an Nvidia card, and the problem is me having to run apps without DirectX support. Makes it very slow!

    Nvidia don't provide drivers directly for my laptop, as it's a Sony Vaio (VGN-AR41L), and say that Sony should be providing the 64bit drivers. Sony have no plans to do so. Didn't think of that one when I converted to 64bit!

    I did try downloading/installing Nvidia drivers, but the software's clever enough to detect it's a Sony, and stops installing it/them.

    I have some minor issues with some little used peripherals, in that 64bit USB drivers aren't provided (eg Parrot SK4000 handsfree kit, for software upgrades). I won't lose any sleep over those, but the video issue means I can't use GoogleEarth to plot/view my motorcycle tours etc.

    If I do have to start afresh, will the Upgrade version I have be OK for a custom install, as I don't know if I still have the original Vista disks :-(

    Thanks again

    JB
     
    Joybringer, Sep 12, 2010
    #3
  4. Joybringer

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    yes it will be fine
    and yes it would require a complete reinstall of everything so back up your data first {removed} and store those files to another HD, flash/pen drive or burn them to a CD/DVD.

    Personally I would try harder to get 64 drivers first. Try the Vista 64 drivers Sony has, as those may work.

    EDIT: I originally said to use W7 Easy Transfer to back up the files and then restore them with it on the new install. I have since learned this will work going from 32 to 64 bit but it will NOT work when downgrading from 64 to 32, so it will have to be done manually.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2010
    TrainableMan, Sep 12, 2010
    #4
  5. Joybringer

    brkkab123 VIP Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    141
    Location:
    Florida
    Try this first

    Try this first. It may solve your problem. Go to either Bing, Google, etc. search for DriverAgent. Run it. It will open up your browser and list outdated drivers. You'll have to pay for a yeard dubscription. It's worth as it can be used on numerous computers. If this doesn't help for your 64 bit drivers, then do a clean 32 bit install. This should help you though. Also, make sure you read the Readme files for all drivers. Some drivers have to be installed a certain way. That's were DriverAgent beats all it's competition, it gives you the specific readme files, so you know to install that driver.UOTE=Joybringer;57899]Hi

    Having 'upgraded' to 64bit a few months ago, I'm fed up with the lack of support (Sony) in getting 64bit drivers (video etc) and want to go back to 32bit.

    A numpty question, perhaps, but how do I achieve this?

    Is is a complete wipe and reinstall from scratch? Or can I replace the OS and keep everything else intact?

    Any advice appreciated!

    Thanks



    Oops! Forgot to mention I have the Home Premium upgrade version.
    JB[/QUOTE]
     
    brkkab123, Sep 12, 2010
    #5
  6. Joybringer

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    9,104
    Likes Received:
    1,592
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Personally I don't believe the paid driver services are any better than the free ones. Both can seriously mess you up if they offer and you install the wrong drivers but for devices that are not working it may be worth a try. I used Device Doctor and it found two that worked and at least one that messed up my system so I had to use a restore point in safe mode to recover. So if you are going to try the drivers, install one at a time, creating a restore point before and rebooting after each.

    DISCLAIMER: Driver agents very often suggest wrong or out-dated drivers themselves. So, if your sound isn't broken then don't install those on the say-so of a driver agent, instead try to do some research on that particular piece of your hardware, go to the makers site .. or just keep what you have.
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2010
    TrainableMan, Sep 12, 2010
    #6
  7. Joybringer

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Likes Received:
    396
    TorrentG, Sep 12, 2010
    #7
    1. Advertisements

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments (here). After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.
Similar Threads
  1. merk
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    4,891
  2. nahtay

    Upgrading 32bit vista to 64bit Win7?

    nahtay, Oct 15, 2009, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    2,320
  3. silverj

    32bit to 64bit change

    silverj, Oct 22, 2009, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    2,737
    SystemsAdminAS
    Oct 29, 2009
  4. jordeangjelovik

    running win7 32bit on 64bit processor

    jordeangjelovik, Oct 23, 2009, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    3,251
    Nibiru2012
    Oct 28, 2009
  5. nubbyk
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,729
    Nibiru2012
    Oct 30, 2009
  6. kayakguy

    Can I load windows 7 64 bit on this system?

    kayakguy, Aug 22, 2016, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    627
    John Finor
    Aug 23, 2016
  7. Idrees313
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    739
    TrainableMan
    Oct 26, 2016
  8. Brad Baten

    Windows Update doesnt work after a Clean Install od WIN 7 64 bit SP1

    Brad Baten, Nov 11, 2016, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    766
    Brad Baten
    Nov 14, 2016
Loading...