Connect old desktop to new one

Reaction score
Hi everybody, just to tell I have no knowledge about PCs I am only using them :))
I have Windows XP , monitor and HP printer. I would like to buy only new desktop as my old one is too slow, two small ??? I added RAM 2 years ago, but now it's again to slow, cannot play games always (loading slow ) etc.
Is there any "easy" way to connect new desktop to existing set and be able to use both of them? I am mostly thinking of being able to access old desktop for "stuff" already on it, not applications that much but pictures, documents on it etc just like a storage and even delete some or most of applications ( I have on it who knows what) as there's so much on it that I am not using at all.
Any patient person there for old lady to explain or give best advice ?
Thanks

PS I have U-verse Internet (ATT stuff) and remote on it, wanting to say you can use laptop with password wireless. If that means anything for my problem :))

Last edited:

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
So your internet provider supplies you with a modem/wireless router combination? Could you specify the make and model?
Is your desktop wired to it or connecting wirelessly?
Will your new desktop be wired or wireless?
If both will be wired, does your current device have extra ports where you can plug in the new desktop while leaving your old desktop plugged as well?

I'm guessing you were thinking more like a real network in which case ... if you only have one plug then you will either have to get a wireless card and connect one that way instead (since you said it does offer wireless) or you can get a network switch.

You can actually wire the two computers to each other but this is normally done for one-time transfers, like to copy all your data to the new machine and you normally use the same plug where your modem wire is connected to your desktop now so you wouldn't have internet while using the crossover.