SOLVED BSOD after fresh install (System Service Exception)


Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
I'm not sure what to post so I'll start with system specs.
CPU- AMD Phenom II x4 955BE
RAM- 4x2GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3 1600
Motherboard- Asus Crosshair IV Formula (Latest BIOS)
SSD- OCZ Solid 3 120GB (Latest Firmware)
HDD- Samsung Spin Point F3 & F4
GPU- 2x AMD HD 6850 (XFX)
PSU- Cougar 850W

This is the third BSOD today. I reinstalled Windows yesterday and all drivers are up to date. I'm using AVG Internet Security 2012.

I ran Prime95 and Memtest for 4 hours each earlier to check for stability and errors. Everything was fine as far as stability and no RAM errors.

Here's a copy of my Minidump.

Thanks for any help in advance.
 

Attachments

Last edited:
Ad

Advertisements

Ace

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
314
Reaction score
61
So it happens when idling?

I'll go review the dumps now.
 

Ace

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
314
Reaction score
61
Code:
*******************************************************************************
*                                                                             *
*                        Bugcheck Analysis                                    *
*                                                                             *
*******************************************************************************

SYSTEM_SERVICE_EXCEPTION (3b)
An exception happened while executing a system service routine.
Arguments:
Arg1: 00000000c0000005, Exception code that caused the bugcheck
Arg2: fffff8800503fd8b, Address of the exception record for the exception that caused the bugcheck
Arg3: fffff8800d224670, Address of the context record for the exception that caused the bugcheck
Arg4: 0000000000000000, zero.

Debugging Details:
------------------


EXCEPTION_CODE: (NTSTATUS) 0xc0000005 - The instruction at 0x%08lx referenced memory at 0x%08lx. The memory could not be %s.

FAULTING_IP: 
atikmdag+3fd8b
fffff880`0503fd8b ff92b8010000    call    qword ptr [rdx+1B8h]

CONTEXT:  fffff8800d224670 -- (.cxr 0xfffff8800d224670)
rax=fffffa800743d390 rbx=fffffa800743d390 rcx=fffffa800743d390
rdx=0000000000000000 rsi=fffffa8006383e80 rdi=0000000000000000
rip=fffff8800503fd8b rsp=fffff8800d225040 rbp=00000000c0000001
 r8=fffff8a0096a9810  r9=00000000000000c0 r10=fffff88001ed6a20
r11=fffff8a0090267c0 r12=fffffa80063ae7c8 r13=fffffa8006640d00
r14=0000000000000001 r15=fffff8a0022bc800
iopl=0         nv up ei ng nz na po nc
cs=0010  ss=0018  ds=002b  es=002b  fs=0053  gs=002b             efl=00010286
atikmdag+0x3fd8b:
fffff880`0503fd8b ff92b8010000    call    qword ptr [rdx+1B8h] ds:002b:00000000`000001b8=????????????????
Resetting default scope

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT:  1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID:  VISTA_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR:  0x3B

PROCESS_NAME:  firefox.exe

CURRENT_IRQL:  0

LAST_CONTROL_TRANSFER:  from 0000000000000000 to fffff8800503fd8b

STACK_TEXT:  
fffff880`0d225040 00000000`00000000 : 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 00000000`00000000 : atikmdag+0x3fd8b


FOLLOWUP_IP: 
atikmdag+3fd8b
fffff880`0503fd8b ff92b8010000    call    qword ptr [rdx+1B8h]

SYMBOL_STACK_INDEX:  0

SYMBOL_NAME:  atikmdag+3fd8b

FOLLOWUP_NAME:  MachineOwner

MODULE_NAME: atikmdag

IMAGE_NAME:  atikmdag.sys

DEBUG_FLR_IMAGE_TIMESTAMP:  4e31d49f

STACK_COMMAND:  .cxr 0xfffff8800d224670 ; kb

FAILURE_BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_atikmdag+3fd8b

BUCKET_ID:  X64_0x3B_atikmdag+3fd8b

Followup: MachineOwner
---------
Code:
kd> lmvm atikmdag
start             end                 module name
fffff880`05000000 fffff880`059d6000   atikmdag T (no symbols)           
    Loaded symbol image file: atikmdag.sys
    Image path: \SystemRoot\system32\DRIVERS\atikmdag.sys
    Image name: atikmdag.sys
    Timestamp:        Thu Jul 28 15:29:03 2011 (4E31D49F)
    CheckSum:         00993241
    ImageSize:        009D6000
    Translations:     0000.04b0 0000.04e4 0409.04b0 0409.04e4
Other bugchecks point to different problems, and one of them even the NT module for ntkrnlmp.exe, which is simply very unlikely. This bugcheck refers to excessive paged pool usage, and likely caused by a graphics driver crossing over and passing bad data to the kernel. Hence why ntkrnlmp.exe shows up as a cause in one of them. The other BSOD shows "explorer.exe" I believe as the cause? That's also unimportant anyway.

To verify, here's what I would suggest. Firstly, we'll do a memory test...
1) Download and run Memtest86 on boot: http://www.memtest86.com
Make sure to let it run and do it's thing for about the first 6 tests. If it passes those, then everything should be good, otherwise any failure to pass those tests indicates a corruption in your memory.

If you get an error on one of the tests, then you should try by booting up your computer with each RAM inserted separately one at a time. When you find one that doesn't return any errors then test it in every single RAM slot to test for a bad socket.

You're last minidump would seem the most accurate to me; atikmdag.sys, being the graphics driver on your machine.

1) Download DriverSweeper and Uninstall your AMD Graphics Driver
2) Make sure to reboot after the uninstall!
3) Reinstall, and reboot once more

Let your machine run for around 48 hours of operation (whether you use it or not in this timeframe from time to time) and see if it BSOD's again.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
So it happens when idling?

I'll go review the dumps now.
Thanks for the fast reply. Well one of the times I was playing music through my web browser. Another time I was benchmarking. So no, not idle.

Thanks for the quick reply. I will try what you suggested and post back if I get another BSOD.

Thanks again!
 

Elmer BeFuddled

Resident eejit
VIP Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2010
Messages
1,050
Reaction score
251
Hi Adam and Welcome to The Forum.

Further to Aces excellent advice, I would:

Disable AMD Overdrive if in use until your system is stable.

Remove AVG through the Control Panel and then use the correct AVG removal tool for your system.s after and replace with BSOD friendly MSE, again until your system is stable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Ace
Ad

Advertisements

Joined
Sep 28, 2011
Messages
8
Reaction score
0
Hi Adam and Welcome to The Forum.

Further to Aces excellent advice, I would:

Disable AMD Overdrive if in use until your system is stable.

Remove AVG through the Control Panel and then use the correct AVG removal tool for your system.s after and replace with BSOD friendly MSE, again until your system is stable.
Thanks, I'll try that.

I just got another BSOD about 5 mins ago.
Here's the Minidump.
 

Attachments

Ad

Advertisements

Ace

Microsoft MVP
Joined
Jul 7, 2011
Messages
314
Reaction score
61
I was going to suggest MSE as your alternative for as long as you have AVG disabled or removed. I've personally noted that AVG is fairly responsible for BSOD's in more cases than just this one (possibly). You might want to try an alternative if you can decide on something else. MSE is good and lightweight though, and did a better job than AVG in detection speed from my experience. I use Norton 360 2012 right now, but Bitdefender and Kaspersky are also up there from the reviews i've seen for May 2011. Never tried Kaspersky, but Bitdefender was alright, Norton is my favorite though for it's amazing firewall and configuration flexibility. If you get another BSOD in the meantime post up another minidump and lets see if there's anything else it might be able to tell us :)

Lots of people use AVG because it's free, but both the free and paid versions you'll see a lot of hate towards from lots of tech reviews. My belief (especially from what i've seen comparing it to MSE) is that it's just not a very good AV. I haven't seen it at the top on any reviews that i've come across, and it definitely didn't detect the EICAR test file as quick as others and MSE in particular.

MSE is what you'll hear most people recommend though, and I can't blame them, it's a very good lightweight AV from Microsoft.
 
Last edited:

Ask a Question

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

You'll need to choose a username for the site, which only take a couple of moments. After that, you can post your question and our members will help you out.

Ask a Question

Top