Any MiniDump analysis experts here?

Ian

Administrator
Reaction score
I'd be interested to know if there are any users here that are able to analyse MiniDump files to help with crash analysis? I'd like to try and get an article on the site that would explain how users can diagnose BSODs and other crashes, however I'm no expert when it comes to dump files.

I know TorrentG had some experience in this, but I've not seen him around for a while. Are there any other users on here that know much about this, so that I could seek some advice to write an article? :)

Reaction score
No im not, but I would like to know what kind of books I should read to learn more about reading mini dumps.

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
Those have always been "Greek" to me.

I need to read up on how to analyze them though.

Reaction score
I've made this thread a sticky in hopes of finding more help with Minidump Analysis.

davehc

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
It is something to which you must be dedicated. I did install all the software and, like thrax, used a help page to work through it. I have used it from time to time but would noy consider myself knowledgeable enough to give advice in a tutorial.
Truth ios, I was dissappointed with the results. Basically it always came down to updating all the dreivers, although one small advantage was that sometimes you could pinpoint a particular driver. Sometimes known software comes into the problem,,l often Norton and AVG products.

In the end, when in time and able, my better advice to users has become a question of ignoring the Windows backup and directing them to an image program right from the start. It usually works out (about 20 minutes max) faster than dump hunting, as you can see from some of the Threads on the site.(worst case running currently 3 weeks!)