SOLVED 32 or 64 bit Internet Explorer

Reaction score
Has a complete novice when it comes to the technical workings of the computer, I need a bit of advice concerning the set up between useing the 64bit or the 32bit browser. I have been told that that I can use either setups has they are both in the computer, but it seems that when I set it up it started useing the 64bit, I want to change it to 32bit, has when I go onto some websites, such has U-TUBE I can't use it has everthing seems to be on the 32 bit system. any advice would be welcomed.
thanks tourer35

Reaction score
Windows 7 x64 (64bit) machines come with (effectivly) two copies of IE (Internet Explorer). One is 64bit the other is 32bit.

IE uses additional pieces of software called 'plug-ins' which enable it to do things that it can't do out of the box. Example, the Adobe Flash plug-in allows IE to display Flash content (YouTube Movies, Animations and much more).

The problem at the moment is that most/all plug-ins made for the 32bit version of IE will not work in the 64bit version of IE, therefore a software developer that makes the plug-in would have to write two versions of it. (One for the 32bit IE and another for the 64bit version).
As you can probably imagine this would take a lot more time for developers, cost more money and so they are relucant to do it at the moment as not enough people use the 64bit version of the browser.

In short use the 32bit version of IE as you will find that the 64bit version is not supported by enough developers yet.

Hope this explains things,

Oliver
www.codeblog.co.uk

Reaction score
windows 7

Hi Green2 go, thanks for your quick reply, what you have mentioned is exactly what Iam baffled with, why did it go straight onto the 64bit rather than the 32 bit, and has you say both are in the windows 7, now my problem is how do I switch to the 32 bit!