Windows Update error - 0x80072f8f

Reaction score
Hey guys, I figured it was finally time to register with this forum...

I get this error while trying to update a copy of windows7 professional. My time IS correct, syncronized to the windows time server.

I work as a navy contractor. I hardened this machine per DISA's hardening requirements. This means some things get disabled, like "automatic updates" Lots of netowork protocol stuff gets edited in the secuirty policy also. I should (i think) still be able to update the machine by clicking the windows update button though. "BITS" works, and the "windows update" service is up, but no worky.

Second thing it may be... The install is not-yet activated. We have a number of identical machines here and I'm trying to make a depolyable image. After I deploy the image, I can activate each with a seperate license. Would the system NOT being activated be an issue? I'm trying to eliminate this variable as we speak by re-imaging the origional install from before I hardened it.

Third thing - As we do work for the governmnet, there is no "internet" here. We have government networks that require a number of accreditations to allow them to be put on the network. So I have this computer accessing the internet through a shared connection on my laptop's Verizon 3g air card. My boss is doing a YUM update on his linux test computer right now, so I know it physically WORKS. Internet works on this computer also.

Any ideas? Please tell me you have ideas.

Edit: Just finished loading the pre-hardened image and it seems to be working, so there's a setting SOMEWHERE

Last edited:

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
The date / time on your computer is too different from the date / time of the SSL (Secure Sockets Layer) certificates used by the Windows Update site.

Check you have the correct time and date and time zone.

How do you get updates if you don't have internet access?