Windows 7 installation of Coreldraw X5 issue ...

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by odin the terrible, Sep 28, 2010.

  1. odin the terrible

    odin the terrible

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Atherton, U.K.
    Have Windows7 Pro 64-bit and tried to install the trial version of Coreldraw x5 but after downloading and attempting the install, it stopped, reporting the following error ...

    [​IMG]

    Reported it to Corel who responded with a suggested list of actions which I've studiously carried out ! Tried again and got the same result.

    Have even created a new user account and tried again, and still get the same reported error message.

    [​IMG]

    Has anyone else come up against this 'brick wall' as I can't figure out what's wrong ?!?!?!?
     
    odin the terrible, Sep 28, 2010
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. odin the terrible

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,508
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If you go to that folder does the msi installer actually exist? Is the file found? You did say it's a beta, It is possible their installer has an error.

    When you started the installer did you use the "run as administrator" option? If not please try that. In the Setup.exe (or whatever they call it) right-click & pick Run as Administrator.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 28, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. odin the terrible

    odin the terrible

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Atherton, U.K.
    Hi,
    I didn't say it was a beta ... I said it was a trial version of the full software ...

    Code:
    http://www.corel.com/servlet/Satellite/gb/en/Content/1152796555406
    The msi installer does exist; it appears that the file is found during the install process and yes, I did run the set up as an administrator. I even tried using the properties tab on the file to "run it in compatability mode for XP too" but that didn't help either.
     
    odin the terrible, Sep 28, 2010
    #3
  4. odin the terrible

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    8,508
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Trial, Beta, even production installers aren't always perfect. I was just saying it is possible the error was at their end. That's why I wanted you to actually check that the file C:\Users\Jeff\AppData\Local\Temp\CorelDraw Graphics Suite X5\15.1.0.588\CGS15\Setup.msi is actually sitting there.

    When you created the new user and tried to install, did the error message folder change to "Secondary" rather than "Jeff" ?

    In your picture I can only see the users but it doesn't expand down to AppData, then Local, then Temp, etc all the way down the folder tree so I just wanted to know you actually verified the folders and file is down there.

    Any way, couple other ideas ...

    How about lowering UAC and trying again? Go to Control Panel \ User Accounts ... Select Change User Account Control settings ... set it to notify never.

    OR, I don't know if you would like it or not. In your user\jeff you notice that little lock and basically W7 doesn't want you in there by default but there is a script you can run to grant yourself full administrator rights to all folders under there. Basically you install the Take Ownership Script and then you go to C:\Users and you right-click on Jeff and choose "Take Ownership". A script will run, depending on how many subfolders are under there I have seen it run 15 minutes or more but when it's done you will have full rights to all folders under there.
     
    TrainableMan, Sep 29, 2010
    #4
  5. odin the terrible

    odin the terrible

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2010
    Messages:
    11
    Location:
    Atherton, U.K.
    Greeetings,
    Wasn't 'having a go at you' for the beta comment ... just trying to make sure there was no misunderstandings.
    When I switched to the 'Secondary' account, u r right ... the paths were identical apart from the user account (sustitute Secondary for Jeff and visa versa) but the result was identical, so, yes they did switch in essence.
    Already tried the UAC 'thing' by setting it to the lowest level (at the bottom... never).
    Well, as we all know, Mr Gates ain't perfect nor are his products ... so the application of a little science (or script) may at times prove to be beneficial ;-) LOL ... so, I'll give it a whirl ... and report back
    THANKS :)
     
    odin the terrible, Sep 29, 2010
    #5
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Mattias
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    14,403
    Mattias
    Sep 17, 2009
  2. Tucsonmatt

    Installation reached the "Completing Installation" phase....

    Tucsonmatt, Oct 25, 2009, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,255
    Nibiru2012
    Oct 28, 2009
  3. Al Smith

    CorelDraw 9 compatibility.

    Al Smith, Jan 19, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    19,105
    biff44
    Dec 7, 2012
  4. JPLAL
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    1,756
    JPLAL
    Apr 2, 2010
  5. McGonigle
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,268
    Forte
    May 19, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page