Windows 7 Hibernation - Discussion

Discussion in 'Article Discussion' started by Ian, Sep 18, 2009.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Ian, Sep 18, 2009
    #1
  2. Ian

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,845
    clifford_cooley, Sep 18, 2009
    #2
    Ian likes this.
  3. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    It's not always turned on - on 2 of my machines it was disabled by default, but enabled on my laptop. I'll add a note on how to disable it in the article :)
    Ian, Sep 18, 2009
    #3
  4. Ian

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    My Hibernation is not turned on by default, but does Windows 7 come out of Hibernation any faster then XP or Vista ? (i gave up using it because it was so slow)
    Veedaz, Sep 18, 2009
    #4
  5. Ian

    olg207 VIP Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    337
    Thats great! I have been wondering where the Hiberbate option was, I have been searching high and low, and your tutorial has done the job - thanks!
    olg207, Sep 19, 2009
    #5
  6. Ian

    Kougar OCing one chip at a time Moderator

    Joined:
    May 11, 2009
    Messages:
    588
    Location:
    Texas
    Hm, I never really gave it much thought. But now that I have 6GB of RAM... having a 6GB hiberfil.sys file is just silly if I was using an SSD where space can become an issue.

    And some people are using as much as 12GB and 16GB of RAM... that's going to be one huge file! I think I'll be leaving Hibernation disabled from now on. Thanks for the article & idea. :)
    Kougar, Sep 26, 2009
    #6
  7. Ian

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    Maybe, for the sceptics, there is one major feature of hibernation, which can, for some, make it a preference to sleep mode.
    The chances of OS corruption, during sleep mode, exist to a great extent. They are negligible in hibernation.
    davehc, Sep 27, 2009
    #7
  8. Ian

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    If I'm not going to use a Computer for any length of time i turn it off, no chance of any corruption and I'm not wasting electricity ... that i pay for ;).
    Veedaz, Sep 29, 2009
    #8
  9. Ian

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,845
    Hibernation doesn't use up electricity. All memory is stored in the Hibernation file so the computer can be shut down and then resumed when turned back on.

    So were you referring to hibernation or standby?
    clifford_cooley, Sep 29, 2009
    #9
  10. Ian

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    davehc, Sep 30, 2009
    #10
  11. Ian

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    @ Clifford, standby or just leaving it on / running

    @ davehc interesting Email

    Maybe I'm out of date but if I'm going to be out all day or overnight (as i am when i go and see friends) i prefer to close my computers down and off at the mains, only thing left on is the router :)
    Veedaz, Sep 30, 2009
    #11
  12. Ian

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    Why not? I certainly can spare a couple of minutes, at most, to start up my computer in the morning. (whilst I grab a cup of coffee!) I dare not switch off my router because I have had a bad experience with my server a couple of years ago. They were grabbing my bandwidth when I was off the air. I had two occasions when I actually had to ring them to regain a connection! I may have scared them off now, but!!!.
    davehc, Sep 30, 2009
    #12
  13. Ian

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    erm now you lost me :confused:

    Its not a good idea to keep switching off your router as some ISPs see an on / off connection as a problem and may cap the line (lower your speed) and (i know with SKY in the UK you would be subject to DLM testing) ... (DLM = Dynamic Line Management)
    Veedaz, Sep 30, 2009
    #13
  14. Ian

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    Hi Veedaz. The "Why not" was agreeing with what you had posted. Sorry if it was too cryptic!
    The rest of the post was a comment pretty much the same as your more recent post. In my case, the ISP went to the more extreme measure of grabbing the lot.
    davehc, Oct 1, 2009
    #14
  15. Ian

    Veedaz ~ VIP Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    1,988
    Location:
    England
    I see :), Some ISPs also cap if you use Torrent sites (and not all torrents are illegal, CCleaner freeware can be downloaded as torrent) so its a good idea to use a download manager that offers encryption ;).

    [​IMG]
    Veedaz, Oct 1, 2009
    #15
  16. Ian

    nof

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    22
    nof, Nov 23, 2009
    #16
  17. Ian

    dwgeo104

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    power option problem?

    If I put my computer in "Sleep" or allow it to go into Hibernation, the next time I wake it I lose features. Some how it doesn't power up right. Aero, audio, screen saver and other options are lost until I do a restart.
    I just installed Windows 7 and am very disappointed with it. Why isn't MS doing something about this?
    dwgeo104, Nov 23, 2009
    #17
  18. Ian

    shreen2010

    Joined:
    May 7, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    shreen2010, May 7, 2010
    #18
  19. Ian

    netfury95

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Issue with hibernation

    I have followed all the steps in this guide. When I press the hibernation button, all peripherals turn off, and my computer begins to hibernate. It then instantly turns on and "resumes windows". Any tips?
    netfury95, Jun 5, 2010
    #19
  20. Ian

    Kalario Aquarius VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Planet Gong
    I have 2 laptops at home and another ffrom work, and never had any issues with sleep/hibernation.
    Kalario, Jun 5, 2010
    #20

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Ian

    Run Windows 7 in Virtual PC - Discussion

    Ian, Dec 2, 2008, in forum: Article Discussion
    Replies:
    16
    Views:
    8,743
    catilley1092
    May 4, 2010
  2. Ian

    Windows 7: 64 bit vs 32 bit? - Discussion

    Ian, Apr 2, 2009, in forum: Article Discussion
    Replies:
    93
    Views:
    50,788
    devriesj
    Jan 30, 2012
  3. Ian

    Windows XP Mode - Discussion

    Ian, Sep 10, 2009, in forum: Article Discussion
    Replies:
    21
    Views:
    5,483
    Veedaz
    Apr 19, 2010
  4. Ian

    Windows 7 Hibernation

    Ian, Sep 18, 2009, in forum: System Administration
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    14,181
  5. Joe Morris

    Windows 7 and hibernation

    Joe Morris, Nov 24, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    3,769
    SC Tom
    Nov 29, 2010
Loading...

Share This Page