Windows 7 32 bit 64 bit usage

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by Monte007, Mar 27, 2011.

  1. Monte007

    Monte007

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I have a new laptop computer with 64 bit Windows 7 Home Premium installed. I need to be able to switch to 32 bit usage to support my Autocad software. I understand that Windows 7 Professional offers that capability. Does that mean that once Windows 7 Professional is installed that I may manually select either 32 or 64 bit operation?
     
    Monte007, Mar 27, 2011
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Monte007

    Super Sarge

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Some Where on Planet Earth I Think
    No you cannot switch between the 2,
    How do you know you r CAD software will not work on W7 64 bit, most 32 bit software works on W7 64 bit? Have you tried installing the CAD software and running it in XP compatibility mode. You do this by highlighting the exe file for the program and go the compatibility tab
    What it means is you can install virtual machine known as VM Software. There are many out there MS has Virtual XP and it is free. when you run the virtual xp from MS you just load your programs on the XP machine like you would any other computer. There are some caveats though, with MS Virtual XP, The default for full screen resolution is 16 bit there is a regedit you can do on the XP Virtual machine that allows for 24 bit colour resolution
     
    Super Sarge, Mar 27, 2011
    #2
    Monte007 likes this.
    1. Advertising

  3. Monte007

    Monte007

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    I initially tried loading the Autocad, and found it wouldn't work. I checked with the Autocad website and found out that my version of Autocad (Autocad 2000) will not work with a 64 bit operating system. I read somewhere that Windows 7 Professional had the capability to work either as 32 or 64 bit. It seemed like there was a selection built in to where you could load it as 64, but switch it to 32 when software required it.
     
    Monte007, Mar 27, 2011
    #3
  4. Monte007

    Super Sarge

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2010
    Messages:
    189
    Location:
    Some Where on Planet Earth I Think
    No there is no such thing, what they were talking about is with Pro or Ultimate you can run XP as a virtual Machine(Computer) You install programs on the the virtual computer just like any other computer. If you have 64 bit Pro, or Ultimate just look up MS XP virtual machine
    A virtual machine (VM) is a software implementation of a machine (i.e. a computer) that executes programs like a physical machine.
    en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Virtual_computer
    http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx
     
    Super Sarge, Mar 27, 2011
    #4
  5. Monte007

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,920
    In addition to what Super Sarge said, Please don't confuse XP compatibility mode with XP mode.

    XP Compatibility Mode simply changes how the applications are started and run.
    XP Mode is Windows XP SP3 32-Bit operating system running virtually within Windows 7.
     
    clifford_cooley, Mar 27, 2011
    #5
  6. Monte007

    wrk613

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    How do I tell if an application is 32 bit vs. 64 bit
     
    wrk613, Mar 28, 2011
    #6
  7. Monte007

    Grudgy

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Try using Virtual Windows XP mode.
     
    Grudgy, Apr 23, 2012
    #7
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Bob Costello

    Windows 7 64-bit RAM usage

    Bob Costello, Nov 6, 2009, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    4,873
    ___Reap3R___
    Dec 2, 2009
  2. minimus

    cpu usage when windows is idle

    minimus, Feb 10, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    32
    Views:
    3,548
    Zootal
    Feb 15, 2010
  3. Dave Rudisill

    Windows 7 Memory Usage

    Dave Rudisill, Feb 25, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    680
    Yousuf Khan
    Feb 27, 2010
  4. dylon2010

    windows 7 x64 RAM usage problem

    dylon2010, Jun 27, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    2,845
    dylon2010
    Jun 27, 2010
  5. sarahcvc

    Windows 7 (64 bit) High CPU Usage + SLOW?

    sarahcvc, Nov 6, 2011, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    5,822
    Kougar
    Nov 7, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page