Unkown device in network map ? windows 7 RC

Discussion in 'Networking' started by brusse01, May 7, 2009.

  1. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Hi all,


    I installed the RC on 3 computers. Setup the network as a "home network". skipped the homegroup because I have 2 XP systems I need to access. any way, in the network map on the 3 RC systems a unknown device is listed. For the life of me, I cannot figure out what/why ?? I have attached a pic....

    any ideas?

    same setup when BETA was installed and didnt have this issue. No 3rd party firewall or network software is installed.

    thx for input :)
     

    Attached Files:

    brusse01, May 7, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. brusse01

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,332
    Does your Windows 7 PC connect directly to the switch? I'm not sure why it would show an unknown device if it's a direct connection. :confused:
     
    Ian, May 7, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    Here is my total network setup: I have a linksys wireless router connected to the cable modem.

    Windows 7 RC desktop > wired to the 2nd port on linksys wireless router

    Compaq Desktop XP Pro SP3 > wired to the 1st port on linksys router

    Barbara Laptop XP Pro SP3 > wireless

    Toshiba Laptop Windows 7 RC > wireless

    Dell Laptop Windows 7 RC > wireless

    media sharing is off on all RC systems
    wireless network uses WPA2 security, mac filtering,
    network is set up as a home and not homegroup because of the XP systems.

    seems like a really strange prob?? and thx for quick response :)

    have disabled IPV6 on the Windows RC 7 systems
    Use Windows Firewall on all the computers...... thing that make ya go hmmmm...
     
    brusse01, May 7, 2009
    #3
  4. brusse01

    Core all ball, no chain Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Have you tried locating Win7 drivers for your Ethernet adapter (or mobo chipset if LAN is onboard)?

    Does this always show up on your network map, or intermittently? Does it show up right after reboot and before any apps are used, or in safe mode w/ network? Do all of the RC machines detect it and list it as unknown?

    I have more questions than answers at this point, honestly...

    The only time I've ever come across something like this was when I had a Server 2003 box on the LAN. The router would DHCP an IP for an "unknown" device/host. I noticed it from my Vista desktop and after a lot of head-scratching tracked it down to the server. I had MAC address filtering enabled, all the possible security measures the router allowed, and this unknown device kept popping up. It was some cron job or service that 2003 ran every now and then for reasons I can't remember anymore. Something I never set up, that's for sure. I know 2003 <> W7 but I thought I'd throw it out there, especially since those two machines on the map, to my understanding, the ones without any "unknowns" linked to them are XP machines.
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2009
    Core, May 7, 2009
    #4
  5. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    All the chipset and network drivers are up to date. And the unknown device is always there... after reboot, shut down.... havent tried it in safe mode tho.
    And all the RC computers see it and list it as unkown as well..... very wierd indeed ???


    The XP systems list all the network computers correctedly. No unknown device in that map. Also I have no problem accessing all the computers over the network.
    I do have a HP Officejet 4315 printer that is shared. All the computers in the network use it without issue. wonder if unknown is that?? just an idea lol
     
    Last edited: May 7, 2009
    brusse01, May 7, 2009
    #5
  6. brusse01

    Core all ball, no chain Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    The XP comps don't see it?
     
    Core, May 7, 2009
    #6
    brusse01 likes this.
  7. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    there is no "unknown" in the XP network places/workgroup ..... XP just lists all the computers on the network... wish the RC would do that lol
     
    brusse01, May 7, 2009
    #7
  8. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    hmmm ...I dont have a server but you could be right about a service or something like that that is on the RC systems that are causing the unknown to show. Will have to check and compare services that are running to see if I can pinpoint it.

    I was also wondering if my linksys wireless router has a firmware update... might be needed with the RC.... just a thought lol
     
    brusse01, May 7, 2009
    #8
  9. brusse01

    Core all ball, no chain Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,161
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    A firmware update wouldn't be a bad idea if available.

    By the by, my W7rc1 machine leases two IPs from my Belkin router. Just noticed it when I logged into the router to look at the client log. Nothing unusual on the network map though, but I've never noticed the XP client leasing more than one IP at a time.
     
    Core, May 7, 2009
    #9
  10. brusse01

    brusse01

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2009
    Messages:
    83
    Location:
    Michigan USA
    an Update:

    I think I might have figured out the ? in my network map.

    I decided to compare the settings in the network and sharing center. I noticed that the Windows7-PC had joined a homegroup. All the other computers had "Ready to Create" listed. I had the Windows7-PC leave the homegroup. I rebooted and the big ? in the map was no longer there. I then double checked my network connections and was able to access all the othe computers/files. Not sure if this was the actual prob or not but it seems to be fixed now.

    thanks again for the help :)
     
    brusse01, May 8, 2009
    #10
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. duc411
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,068
    duc411
    Nov 5, 2009
  2. pegg2sparks

    CD DVD device not working after loading Windows 7

    pegg2sparks, Jan 14, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    2,142
    JessicaD
    Jan 19, 2010
  3. omerwax

    windows mobile device center

    omerwax, Mar 3, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    2,602
    omerwax
    Mar 3, 2010
  4. D@LS

    Windows Device Installation

    D@LS, Feb 12, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    3,819
  5. Scott

    Windows Mobile Device Center and 64 bit

    Scott, Mar 15, 2013, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    442
    Scott
    Mar 17, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page