SOLVED The diagnostics policy service is not running

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by davegri, Oct 10, 2010.

  1. davegri

    davegri

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Whenever I try troubleshooting internet connection problems (which I often do) I run into the same message time and time again without fail; "The diagnostics policy service is not running" I attempted to go into services.msc and fix the problem, when I attempted to start the service manually I got the following message; "The Diagnostic Policy Service service on Local Computer started and then stopped. Some services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services or programs."

    Please don't tell me to reformat my computer, because that's my last resort, I don't have any restore points from before the problem occurred, and I don't want to run a repair install. If anyone can find a solution I will be forever grateful.
    davegri, Oct 10, 2010
    #1
    dharg49 likes this.
    1. Advertising

  2. davegri

    etalmar

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    My Diagnostics Policy Service setting is set to "Automatic". I know that there is another setting similar to that (Automatic - Delayed Start), as well as the Manual setting, so the only bit of advice I can offer is to make sure that your service is set to Automatic (not Automatic - Delayed Start) and definitely not Manual.

    Right-click on the Diagnostics Policy Service link and select properties. Then select "Automatic" from the dropdown menu and click the "Start" button to activate the service. Then click on the Apply button to save your settings.
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
    etalmar, Oct 10, 2010
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. davegri

    davegri

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Already set to auto ):
    davegri, Oct 10, 2010
    #3
  4. davegri

    etalmar

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    Sorry, but I don't know what else to suggest to you, other than the dreaded reformat. Are you sure that you do not have at least one system image that you could revert back to before this issue occurred? It would seem that you should have at least a few to select from, as I have some that go back for about 30 to 45 days from today's date, which is the standard settings, since I haven't changed the default system image settings
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2010
    etalmar, Oct 10, 2010
    #4
  5. davegri

    davegri

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    I've had this problem for over a year, no images or anything before that. how is it that no one on the web knows how to fix this?
    davegri, Oct 10, 2010
    #5
  6. davegri

    etalmar

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    That is quite an enigmatic situation you have, davegri. There are a lot of intelligent and computer savvy members here, so I would hope that someone else may be able to come forward and offer some other possible solutions to help resolve your problem.
    etalmar, Oct 10, 2010
    #6
  7. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    All of my servivces (There are three) are set to manual by default.
    Diagnostic policy service; Diagnostic Service host(Must be running); and Diagnostic System host, which must also be running.
    The normal situation, after startup, would be that all are shown on manual, but all are shown as "started" What do you see?
    davehc, Oct 11, 2010
    #7
  8. davegri

    etalmar

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    By default, all of my services were not set to manual. When I received my new desktop and reviewed the running services, there was a mixture of Automatic, Automatic (Delayed Start) and a few set to Manual. Interesting that all of your services were set to manual by default. Is that something that you did?
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
    etalmar, Oct 11, 2010
    #8
  9. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    No. As I said, it was the default (Ultimate)
    davehc, Oct 11, 2010
    #9
  10. davegri

    etalmar

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    196
    I see. The services settings vary according to the Win7 package on your OS - Ultimate, Home Premium, etc. I didn't realize that there would be nearly as many differences and variables at play within the same OS architecture. Regardless,my default services settings are working very well, so I am leaving them alone.
    Last edited: Oct 11, 2010
    etalmar, Oct 11, 2010
    #10
  11. davegri

    draceena That Crazy Amazon Chick! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Location:
    New Brunswick
    Given the choice between reformat and reapir install, I'd go the repair route since you retain all your programs and settings and only a few programs need to be reinstalled. As to your problem, it's definately odd. I checked on my computer (Win7 Ultimate 64bit) and the Diagnostic Service is set to Automatic.

    Have you checked Event Viewer for any odd messages? (Go to Control Panel, then Administrative Tools, then Event Viewer)

    In the Left Column, Expand the Custom Views and select Administrative Events. In the Center Column look for any relevant error messages
    draceena, Oct 11, 2010
    #11
  12. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    I have to correct my previous post, etalmar, apologies. The policy service (only) is on automatic.
    'But, as we now have this thread active, here is a list of the entire defaults for all Windows 7 packages.

    View attachment 1646
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2011
    davehc, Oct 11, 2010
    #12
  13. davegri

    davegri

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    when i open the event viewer i get an error message:

    Event log service is unavailable verify that the service is running.


    When i try running the service manually I get:

    Windows could not start the Windows Event Log service on Local Computer.

    Error 4201: The instance name passed was not recognized as valid by a WMI
    data provider
    davegri, Oct 11, 2010
    #13
  14. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    You may have a logging error, otherwise your worse fear may be realised! (reinstall)
    But go to Windows - System32 - Logfiles.
    Enter each folder you find there and delete all the files.
    Reboot and see if all is working.
    Have a look, also, through my attachment in the previous post and make sure you have everything on its defaults
    davehc, Oct 11, 2010
    #14
    Willyz likes this.
  15. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    I believe you have solved the problem ? (GlobeStudios).
    davehc, Oct 12, 2010
    #15
  16. davegri

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    Last edited: Oct 15, 2010
    davehc, Oct 14, 2010
    #16
    clifford_cooley likes this.
  17. davegri

    checks

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    thanks guys been struggling with this problem for a while

    thanks guys been struggling with the problem for a while
    checks, Nov 4, 2011
    #17
  18. davegri

    Willyz

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    This resolved my problem - the same as above...
    Deleting all files in ...Windows\System32\LogFiles\...subdirectories resolved the issue with non working services.

    Thanks!
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
    Willyz, Dec 21, 2011
    #18
  19. davegri

    fuhrer24

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    same problem, but i cannot connect to wifi or ethernet or usb tehter from my phone even
    fuhrer24, Feb 18, 2012
    #19
  20. davegri

    devnullius

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Another 3 hours lost :(

    ... but this thread actually had the solution!! Thank you (k)

    Removing the log files.... Sigh.

    Btw; you might need Fileunlocker to complete removal of all...

    Peace!

    Devvie

    ~~~ notemail@facebook.com ~~~

    Cuisvis hominis est errare, nullius nisi insipientis in errore persevare
    ——
    All spelling mistakes are my own and may only be distributed under the GNU General Public License! – (© 95-1 by Coredump; 2-012 by DevNullius)
    devnullius, May 1, 2012
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Ian

    Memory Diagnostics - Discussion

    Ian, Sep 3, 2009, in forum: Article Discussion
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,761
    Veedaz
    Sep 3, 2009
  2. Ian

    Memory Diagnostics

    Ian, Sep 3, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Errors
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    11,781
  3. yumimi

    Windows memory Diagnostics Tools cannot finish

    yumimi, Dec 2, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    2,504
    TrainableMan
    Dec 6, 2010
  4. James Silverton

    Transfer files between computer running XP and one running W7

    James Silverton, Feb 14, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    868
    GreyCloud
    Feb 15, 2011
  5. JCO

    The Audio Service Is Not Running

    JCO, Jan 21, 2013, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    794
    Dave-UK
    Feb 3, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page