Runtime Error - stops printer software install

Reaction score
I'm trying to re install my HP C7280 printer software which inexplicably stopped working this week.
I was getting a window to say the driver/software had not completed install (wich was false as I had been using it for several months) The printer also works fine from other programmes etc and shows up in Printers and devices.
I have tried all sorts of options inc unistalling and re installing but I always come up against a window that states:
Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library
X Runtime Error!
Programe: C:\users etc.... \Setup.exe
This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.
Please contact the application's support team for more information

I have the most upto date download from HP, which is for Win 7 X64 and I have run a Reg Cleaner as most advice on the internet seems to suggest and still no luck.

Does anyone have any ideas?

Thanks

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
I would uninstall Microsoft Visual C++ 200? Redistributable & the printer software, then reinstall. But try to figure out which redistributable; I have 4 references in control panel \ programs and features to 2005 and 7 to 2008 (various dates and bit versions). You can delete them all but then other programs that need the ones the printer doesn't reinstall will have to be reinstalled too.

There is an install date, that may help you better figure out the version that installed with your printer.

Reaction score
Try opening an elevated command prompt and running this command:

sfc /scannow

Reboot after it's done.

Reaction score
Try opening an elevated command prompt and running this command:

sfc /scannow

Reboot after it's done.
Done and it ended with something like Windows could not find any integrity violation.

rebooed and tried again but same error message ??

Reaction score
Tried a System restore and that 'FAILED' ??