Problem accessing the BIOS

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Kalario, Sep 21, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kalario

    Kalario Aquarius VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Planet Gong
    I am helping a friend upgrade to win 7 on his laptop HP EliteBook 6930. I can't access the BIOS to have it start from the CD/DVD drive. The problem is that the BIOS is password protected. He never set a password as he bought it from a retailer a couple of years ago.

    HP support is useless as they suggested removing both batteries (the regular one and the CMOS one) but that did not work. I am at a loss. :dontknow:

    Any suggestions?
    Kalario, Sep 21, 2010
    #1
  2. Kalario

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,844
    HP EliteBook 6930p Notebook PC

    Maintenance and Service Guide

    Page 47
    clifford_cooley, Sep 21, 2010
    #2
  3. Kalario

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,298
    Do any of the following master passwords work?

    http://www.biosflash.com/e/bios-passwords.htm

    Also, do you know the type of BIOS used (Award, AMI, etc...?). Also, are you given a "System Hash Code" anywhere when you are prompted for the password?

    FWIW, you may also be able to enter the boot menu by pressing F12 on boot. I know on some HP laptops that provides a manual selection boot menu :).
    Ian, Sep 21, 2010
    #3
  4. Kalario

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Do you have the user manual for the notebook computer?

    According to the manual the user can change or delete the password.

    Here's a link: http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c01892653/c01892653.pdf

    This is the page from the service guide on how to reset the password if unknown.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    So according to the instructions, you HAVE TO LEAVE THE BATTERY DISCONNECTED FOR AT LEAST FIVE MINUTES before the BIOS and PASSWORD resets work.

    Also it states no connect the main battery, just run on AC power.

    Here's a link to the Service Guide Manual: http://bizsupport1.austin.hp.com/bc/docs/support/SupportManual/c02514991/c02514991.pdf

    I hope this helps you out now. Maybe the HP tech support guy didn't tell you to wait the 5 minute time period.
    Nibiru2012, Sep 21, 2010
    #4
  5. Kalario

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    LOL! Ian, Cliff and myself were all working on this at the same time, I just took longer! LOL!
    Nibiru2012, Sep 21, 2010
    #5
  6. Kalario

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,844
    Nibs you always give it more detail though. :D
    clifford_cooley, Sep 21, 2010
    #6
    Nibiru2012 likes this.
  7. Kalario

    Kalario Aquarius VIP Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    590
    Location:
    Planet Gong
    Thanks guys, I will try it again (disconnecting the batteries).
    Meanwhile here are my options when I hit Esc when booting:

    F1 - System Information
    F2 - System Diagnostocs

    F7 - HP SpareKey
    F9 - Boot Device Options
    F10 - BIOS Set Up

    F12 - Network boot

    When I choose the F9 - Boot device options, here is what I get
    - Notebook Upgrade Bay
    - Notebook Hard Drive
    - Notebook Ethernet

    I do not see the CD/DVD option, unless the Upgrade Bay is what it is :confused: ???

    Thanks for all your help. I will let you know how I fare.
    Kalario, Sep 21, 2010
    #7
  8. Kalario

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    According to the first PDF guide I posted above, the CD/DVD-ROM is first boot device enabled by default.

    [​IMG]

    Have you tried putting in the Windows 7 Install DVD and rebooting? Upon reboot, a message should appear stating: Press any key to boot from CD/DVD drive Do that within 4-5 seconds and it should start the install process.
    Nibiru2012, Sep 21, 2010
    #8
  9. Kalario

    mysoulishome

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    SOLUTION: This is what I did and worked like a dream. Contacted HP, told them the problem. They "escalated the case," took my info. The next day I was emailed a file called SMC.bin. It is formatted specifically for my machine, has to match the UUID. Copied file to FAT 32 formatted jump drive, booted it as per the email instructions, reset bios password.


    I did this via chat on HP's website.

    Screwing with the bios battery will not work on Elitebook...
    mysoulishome, Aug 29, 2013
    #9
    TrainableMan likes this.

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. thanweb

    Problems accessing NAS on Windows 7

    thanweb, Jan 22, 2009, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    34
    Views:
    74,688
    Djas47
    Dec 29, 2012
  2. trueblue808

    Windows 7 64 bit home and accessing the internet

    trueblue808, Mar 6, 2010, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    663
    trueblue808
    Mar 6, 2010
  3. robertlacy
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    2,503
    robertlacy
    Jun 29, 2010
  4. markkoo93

    Screen Problem ? BIOS ? Motherboard ?

    markkoo93, Nov 30, 2010, in forum: Crashes, BSODs and Debugging
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    2,831
    cybercore
    Nov 30, 2010
  5. Renny Bosch

    Why is Firefox continuously accessing the Internet?

    Renny Bosch, Apr 30, 2013, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    15
    Views:
    275
    Renny Bosch
    May 4, 2013
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page