New system: installation not working.

Reaction score
I just built a computer. Installing windows 7 was going great until it restarted for the first time. After the first restart the "Starting Windows" showed up and the Logo formed. Then a few seconds later the computer shut off and restarted the process over and over (the logo and "Starting windows" happened over and over).

I was on the phone at the time and wasn't paying attention so it kept happening.

I turned off the computer, turned it on again and re-installed windows. Same thing happened: Couple seconds of Logo then BOOM.

Specs:
intel i5-2500k unlocked
msi gts 250 512 mb
4 Gb ram
MSI P67A-C43

I now have 2 windows 7's installed. I reset my BOOT to default, and now I can't even try to reinstall.

Though I'm a huge computer noob I get the feeling it might be my graphics card. Windows seems so close to getting to the next step then just stops dead. Any help would be much, much appreciated. :)

Reaction score
Check to see if your ram timings are correct in the bios. If they are, try removing one of them. You could've gotten a bad stick of ram. If it does the same thing after removing a stick of the ram, pull that one out and put the first stick in that you pulled out.

Reaction score
I only have one stick. My timing settings in my bios is [AUTO]. Is that good enough or do I need to change something else?

I can probably get another stick of ram if mine's broke, but I've been doing the memory test on the motherboard and it's checked out okay... I also switched the ram around to a different slot. Tried booting, same thing happened. Thanks for the reply. Any thoughts?

Reaction score