my laptop is compaq presario cq40

Reaction score
hey everybody , i wanna ask can my laptop presario cq40 supports windows 7 , and please explain how can i ?

Ace

Microsoft MVP
Reaction score
It depends on what kind of RAM you have, and a few other computer credentials. Can't say just by the brand of a laptop really. I've never heard of that laptop before, what are it's specifications?

In some cases you'd be able to run Win7, but not very effectively, so there's that kind of range as well. If you're computer meets the minimum.

yodap

No longer shovelling
Reaction score
That laptop has 2 gig of ram stock. I am unable to find out if it supports more yet. The on-board graphics may not support full aero features in w7.

I do believe you could run the 32bit version of home premium. Drivers would need to be updated.

Reaction score
its a compaq laptop . it has 2gb ram , amd turion x2 , ati radeon graphic card .

Reaction score
i'm a noob in these pc things , err how can i update my driver ?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
vika - I deleted the new thread you started with the exact same question as above. There is no need to start a
new thread with the same question.

I am also moving this to "Installation, Setup and Updates" since that is a more relevant thread for the topic we're discussing here.

Last edited by a moderator:

Nibiru2012

Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Reaction score
After looking at the User Manual for your Laptop, it states it will support up to 8 GB of total RAM in two SODIMM slots. So that's up to two 4 GB sticks.

Here's a screen capture of the page in the manual I'm referring to:

You'll be able to install the 64-bit version of Windows 7 and you can run 4GB of RAM and you'll be rocking. Just be sure that they're a "matched set" so that there is no issues between different manufacturers, etc.