Just upgraded from Vista. No sound from my speakers

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. jasonthigpen

    jasonthigpen

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I upgraded my Dell M1330 to Windows 7 from Vista. I have no sound at all from my laptop speakers. I've checked all of the usual things, driver updates, windows updates, etc. Nothing works and everything is up to date. The speakers aren't muted. When i look at the device manager, the only options I can see are for headphone and RCA jacks. I can't seem to find the integrated laptop speakers. Can anyone help point me in the right direction??
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
    jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010
    #1
  2. jasonthigpen

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    TorrentG, Sep 20, 2010
    #2
  3. jasonthigpen

    jasonthigpen

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    i downloaded and installed that driver. still not working. in the volume icon in the system tray, it shows that that the volume is working. any other ideas? i tried running the windows troubleshooter, but nothing there worked.
    jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010
    #3
  4. jasonthigpen

    jasonthigpen

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    btw, it is a 32-bit system. i even tried uninstalling my sound drivers and restarting my laptop. upon restart, windows automatically downloads and installs drivers for 2 separate high definition audio devices. still having the same results.
    jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010
    #4
  5. jasonthigpen

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Try going to the Sound section in the Control Panel, then in the windows of the "Playback" tab, right-click and choose: Show Disabled Devices. Your problem may be there.
    Nibiru2012, Sep 20, 2010
    #5
  6. jasonthigpen

    jasonthigpen

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I've done that. It shows four different option. I have two different high definition audio devices, one set as default that shows to be working, and one that says it's not plugged in. I also have a digital audio (s/pdif) that shows to be ready and my hdmi input.
    jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010
    #6
  7. jasonthigpen

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Have you tried Microsoft "Fix it"? Link for sound problems is HERE.
    TrainableMan, Sep 20, 2010
    #7
  8. jasonthigpen

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    Try setting the one that says not plugged in, as the default playback device.

    That could mean the headphone's aren't plugged in, but still the correct choice to make.
    TorrentG, Sep 20, 2010
    #8
  9. jasonthigpen

    jasonthigpen

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    the microsoft fix it software didn't detect any issues. i tried switching the not plugged in device to my default, still no sound. i tried plugging in some headphones into the jack on front of the computer. the sound worked fine then! but still nothing from the laptop speakers.
    jasonthigpen, Sep 20, 2010
    #9
  10. jasonthigpen

    TorrentG

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,752
    It could be a driver issue, which is likely.

    It could also be because the 1/8" jack for the headphones is malfunctioning, making the pc think there is always headphones plugged in, even when they aren't. If this is what is happening, the audio would always be sent to the jack, causing the sound to never go to the speakers.

    But like I said, probably a driver issue, unless you know you might have damaged the jack at some time.

    Try different versions of the driver from the page I posted and it may eventually work. XP versions may even do well.
    TorrentG, Sep 20, 2010
    #10
  11. jasonthigpen

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677
    Location:
    PA, USA
    If you plug a headphone into your output jack does that work?

    Do you have a speaker icon in your notification area (system tray in older OSs)? If so right-click on it and select "Open Volume Mixer" - On mine I have 4 different items that I can control including windows Media Player and it is possible for me to mute or lower the volume on any one while leaving the others alone and if I do that nothing anywhere else shows as muted and even hitting my master mute and then hitting it off does not reset the individual settings.
    TrainableMan, Sep 21, 2010
    #11
  12. jasonthigpen

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,845
    There is a such thing as Jack Detection that will disable the rest of the audio system when the headset is plugged in. Disabling Jack Detection should enable the whole audio system regardless of whether you have a headset plugged in. I'm not sure if you will have this feature or not though. I do know I have had issues with this feature myself and needed to disable Jack Detection for my Rear Speakers to work. Your laptop may have a similar features and could be worth looking into.
    clifford_cooley, Sep 21, 2010
    #12
  13. jasonthigpen

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677
    Location:
    PA, USA
    You know I had the ability to do that in XP but when I installed W7 I no longer had that switch so now every time I plug in headphones the rear port is disabled. I think it must depend on the audio driver. I actually liked having the option but I just don't leave the headphones plugged in any more..
    TrainableMan, Sep 21, 2010
    #13
  14. jasonthigpen

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,845
    If you have Realtek HD Audio Manager, try this location.
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Attached Files:

    clifford_cooley, Sep 21, 2010
    #14
    Nibiru2012 likes this.
  15. jasonthigpen

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Thanks for that handy tip C_C! I have never even noticed the folder in the upper right-hand corner before till you pointed it out.

    I know clicking on the little "i" icon in the lower right-hand corner will turn off the icon in the system tray through the window that pops up.
    Nibiru2012, Sep 21, 2010
    #15
  16. jasonthigpen

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677
    Location:
    PA, USA
    This is starting to feel like hijacking, maybe you could move these four posts to a new thread?

    I tried updating with drivers from Realtek but I must have done something wrong because when I just looked I see I have Microsoft default drivers.
    TrainableMan, Sep 21, 2010
    #16
  17. jasonthigpen

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,845
    That is still a possible solution for the original question.
    clifford_cooley, Sep 21, 2010
    #17
  18. jasonthigpen

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,677
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Well if you think it might help him too, that's cool, I didn't want anyone to feel I was taking over for my issue.
    TrainableMan, Sep 21, 2010
    #18

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. laurencekoster

    Surround sound speakers

    laurencekoster, Jan 18, 2009, in forum: General Discussion
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,541
  2. Topperharley

    Upgraded to Windows 7, Now no sound..

    Topperharley, Aug 30, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,506
    TorrentG
    Aug 31, 2010
  3. sarveshgoel

    no sound when upgraded to Win 7

    sarveshgoel, Oct 9, 2010, in forum: Drivers
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,900
    sarveshgoel
    Oct 19, 2010
  4. GerryLP

    Upgraded From Vista to Win 7; Now Locks Up

    GerryLP, Mar 1, 2011, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,214
    GerryLP
    Mar 3, 2011
  5. Jobeachgirl

    I upgraded from vista to 7 home premium

    Jobeachgirl, Apr 27, 2013, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    377
    TrainableMan
    Apr 27, 2013
Loading...

Share This Page