IE 9 to go public tomorrow

Discussion in 'News' started by yodap, Sep 14, 2010.

  1. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    yodap, Sep 14, 2010
    #1
    TrainableMan likes this.
  2. yodap

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,301
    Really looking forward to IE9 launching, especially as it means I'll be able to test to see if w7forums.com still works in the new browser ;)

    The GPU acceleration & HTML5 will be a welcome bonus too!
    Ian, Sep 14, 2010
    #2
  3. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    No doubts. :lol::lol:
    yodap, Sep 14, 2010
    #3
  4. yodap

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Microsoft must be keeping this under their lid, it's not even available on TechNet yet. Most new Microsoft software is available there before the public even knows of it. Hopefully, they'll have their own links to the download.

    Most likely, there will be panic tomorrow, I sure hope that MS has enough servers to handle the load. This will be their second largest release of the year, behind MS Office 2010.

    Also, this is most likely the beginning of the end of IE6, as I just can't see MS supporting four browsers concurrently. Most likely, just as Win 2K users were forced to upgrade to IE6 to update (you still can do this), XP users will be forced to upgrade to IE7 to update. It ships with IE6 (except the ones with SP3 on the disc). This will mean that Win 2K will be no longer updated. While you can still install it, and install all available updates that were available during it's support, it won't be possible to do that any longer.

    For MS's sake, I hope that IE9 does well, as the future of IE hinges on it. The competition is closing in, actually launched their version of HTML5 first. While I'm not a big fan of IE, I do know this, if only Bill was still at the helm, there wouldn't even be a legit challenger to IE's lead. It wouldn't even be close, he'd buy them out and eat the loss first, anything & everything to keep Windows & IE ahead of the pack.

    Cat
    catilley1092, Sep 15, 2010
    #4
  5. yodap

    andsome VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2010
    Messages:
    363
    Location:
    Burntwood Staffordshire
    I'll let you lot and others try it first, and iron out the snags, then I will try it myself. Get busy folks. :D:D:D
    andsome, Sep 15, 2010
    #5
  6. yodap

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    According to Wikipedia it will be the public "beta" release. Not the RTM.
    Nibiru2012, Sep 15, 2010
    #6
  7. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Yes. Beta !
    yodap, Sep 15, 2010
    #7
  8. yodap

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    Where is the link to it at? As of yet, all that I can find are the platform preview links. Mabye it will be later today, as the West Coast time (where MS is located) is about four to five hours different, making it at much earlier than here.

    Hopefully, it will show soon.

    Cat
    catilley1092, Sep 15, 2010
    #8
  9. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Never did find a link.

    Maybe the servers are too busy with patch Tuesday updates. :rolleyes:
    yodap, Sep 15, 2010
    #9
  10. yodap

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
    davehc, Sep 15, 2010
    #10
  11. yodap

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,674
    Location:
    PA, USA
    I couldn't get it to download from Dave's link, Some adamt reference likely blocked by my ad blockers. But this one worked for me ...
    http://download.cnet.com/Internet-Explorer/3000-2356_4-10497433.html
    and I notice over 1.6miliion downloads already just from here!

    But when I try to install it I get an installer error. "This version of setup doesn't support your Windows system type (32-bit/64-bit)" :(
    I know I'm running 64-bit but this 32-bit should still run.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
    TrainableMan, Sep 15, 2010
    #11
  12. yodap

    davehc Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,957
    Location:
    Denmark
    I am using ther 64Bit. Hang on and I,ll try and install 32

    Seconds later. Nope. you are right. same message. Im going to log it as a bug on the feedback

    OK.I don't think it is a problem, as such.There is a download for windows 7 64 bit and another for windows 7 32 Bit. Both 32 bit browsers.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
    davehc, Sep 15, 2010
    #12
  13. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Screen shot

    Attached Files:

    • 45.jpg
      45.jpg
      File size:
      93.6 KB
      Views:
      98
    yodap, Sep 15, 2010
    #13
  14. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    Gosh! It runs so much better than IE 8 on my 32bit. Trying to customize a little now.
    yodap, Sep 15, 2010
    #14
  15. yodap

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,674
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Well I used Dave's link, selected "other versions", selected W7 64-bit, extracted the link and stripped the href out to skip the pass through the ads and it downloaded. "Piece of cake" :p

    The 64-bit installer is almost twice the size of the 32-bit (35.9mb vs 19mb) and when you actually install it goes out and downloads the actual program! It easily took over 5 minutes to install. Have to go now, it wants a restart :)
    TrainableMan, Sep 15, 2010
    #15
  16. yodap

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,674
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Well my excitement was short-lived, I don't care for it.

    As is the way with Microsoft these days they have decided to just completely drop features I use - ie the menubar. I remember I had restored it with a registry hack but they took it out (I didn't try to reapply the regfix).

    And in order to see the URL you have to make the tabs tiny. And if you enable the favorites and command bars then it is under the tabs which is stupid. I can't honestly say it jumps to links any faster and if it is the first time there it seems slower to me. When you first start it up there is a bar saying it would be faster w/out add-ons and do I want it to disable them or have it annoy(ask) me later - there is no leave me alone button; if I didn't want the add-ons I wouldn't have loaded them!

    I uninstalled and lost all my ie8 settings!!! I hate Microsoft! Luckily I was able to import from Firefox but I will have to reapply the regfix to get my menu.
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2010
    TrainableMan, Sep 15, 2010
    #16
  17. yodap

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,846
    Right click the Tab Bar and then select Menu Bar.
    If you only want the Menu Bar to show temporarily, then press the Alt key.

    There is no need in a registry hack.
    clifford_cooley, Sep 15, 2010
    #17
  18. yodap

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,674
    Location:
    PA, USA
    The hack puts it to the top. But in 9 I didn't see a menu bar offered in the "menus"
    TrainableMan, Sep 15, 2010
    #18
  19. yodap

    clifford_cooley VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    4,846
    I can not speak for IE9 Beta, I've not installed in yet. I was referring to IE8.

    Firefox has the same option only you have to right click the Address Bar to toggle the Menu Bar.

    Seeing how I'm using Opera now anyway, I think I will install IE9 Beta.
    clifford_cooley, Sep 15, 2010
    #19
  20. yodap

    yodap No longer shovelling VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,430
    Location:
    NY, USA
    The alt.tab brings it up. So far I can't keep it there. As soon as you try to lock it, it disappears.

    Still learning.

    Attached Files:

    • 46.jpg
      46.jpg
      File size:
      86.2 KB
      Views:
      92
    yodap, Sep 15, 2010
    #20

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. olg207

    Public Enemies

    olg207, Jun 27, 2009, in forum: Off-Topic Discussion
    Replies:
    0
    Views:
    993
    olg207
    Jun 27, 2009
  2. Jim

    changin network from "home" to ""public"

    Jim, Mar 23, 2010, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    8
    Views:
    1,198
    SC Tom
    Mar 27, 2010
  3. Jeffreyobrien

    [SOLVED] w7 SP1 Public release

    Jeffreyobrien, Jul 13, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    43
    Views:
    13,709
    catilley1092
    Aug 25, 2010
  4. catilley1092

    Malwarebytes 1.50 Public Beta Released

    catilley1092, Nov 12, 2010, in forum: Security
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    1,651
    brkkab123
    Nov 12, 2010
  5. catilley1092

    Can't connect to Public Wi-Fi

    catilley1092, May 1, 2011, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,962
    catilley1092
    May 2, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page