How to copy a bootable CD, not a Windows CD

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by svrich, Jul 20, 2010.

  1. svrich

    svrich

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    I have a bootable CD with Norton Ghost on it that I use to backup my partitions to a second drive. I want to make a copy of this disc before it doesn't work anymore but how? I've spent almost half a day googling how to do this simple task and can't find and answer. I'm not trying to copy my windows CD.
    svrich, Jul 20, 2010
    #1
  2. svrich

    Mychael VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Melbourne, victoria
    I've not tried it myself ( with a bootable CD) but free burner programs like imgburn or infrarecorder (both free downloads) have option for CD copy.. you could try one of those.
    Mychael, Jul 20, 2010
    #2
  3. svrich

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Yes, just use ImgBurn, it's a free burning app and does a good job.

    You can download it at: www.imgburn.com

    What you do is first "Create an Image from Disc" function.

    Then, "Write an Image to Disc" and you'll be all set.
    Nibiru2012, Jul 21, 2010
    #3
  4. svrich

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    I'm with Nibiru, ImgBurn will handle most any of your burning/copying needs. I've never tried to make a copy of commercial software before, some discs may have copyright protection built in. If so, you may have problems. All you can do is try and see.

    Cat
    catilley1092, Jul 21, 2010
    #4
  5. svrich

    svrich

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Will it copy a bootable CD? I'm not trying to copy commercial software. This is a disc a coworker made that boots and has a menu of options he made that will launch Norton Ghost.
    svrich, Jul 21, 2010
    #5
  6. svrich

    svrich

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    You know how we can format a floppy and check the box that says "Make bootable"? It will copy the system code to make it boot. Why can't we have the same option for making bootable CDs? Why does everything have to be so difficult?
    svrich, Jul 21, 2010
    #6
  7. svrich

    catilley1092 Win 7/Linux Mint Lover VIP Member

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2009
    Messages:
    3,507
    Location:
    North Carolina, USA
    ImgBurn will handle what you want to do, it's a free app. There is a copy option there. If it's bootable, the copy will be, too.

    They try to get you to install a toolbar, but you can uncheck those options easily.

    Cat
    catilley1092, Jul 21, 2010
    #7
  8. svrich

    Fire cat Established Member VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2010
    Messages:
    1,157
    As far as I know, all CDs and DVDs are bootable by default, as long as you have something to boot into.

    ImgBurn is a great tool, as well as Nero.
    Fire cat, Jul 21, 2010
    #8
  9. svrich

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    svrich -
    Yes, ImgBurn takes an "image" of the CD and burns it exactly as it is on the disc.

    That's because on a floppy disk, MS DOS is copied on to the disc, which allows it to boot into a DOS enviroment.

    FC -
    Not necessarily so, making a bootable CD or DVD is an option which is chosen when burning the disc.
    Nibiru2012, Jul 21, 2010
    #9
  10. svrich

    svrich

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks, I used imageburn and the resultant CD was bootable. Yay! something worked!
    svrich, Jul 21, 2010
    #10
  11. svrich

    svrich

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    [/QUOTE]That's because on a floppy disk, MS DOS is copied on to the disc, which allows it to boot into a DOS enviroment.
    [/QUOTE]


    Yes why can't that be done for CDs as well?
    svrich, Jul 21, 2010
    #11
  12. svrich

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X

    It can, you just have to select "Create a bootable CD" option in whatever burning program you're using. Some offer the option others don't. With some programs it will be in the "Advanced' section also.

    ImgBurn gives you the function to make a bootable CD with several bootable options to choose from.
    Nibiru2012, Jul 22, 2010
    #12

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Ian
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    3,258
    spearace
    Aug 3, 2009
  2. Jdr
    Replies:
    25
    Views:
    2,270
    McCorkindale
    Sep 8, 2011
  3. Cameo
    Replies:
    12
    Views:
    2,037
    nitroman84
    Feb 22, 2012
  4. red4life
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    672
    TrainableMan
    Jan 18, 2012
  5. suhail_80

    bootable dvd of windows

    suhail_80, Nov 25, 2012, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    627
    TrainableMan
    Nov 26, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page