How do I convert from W7 32 bit to 64 bit on new computer

Reaction score
Hi all,
Let me start by saying that I am pretty new to trying anything custom with computers. In the past I have always been a "buy it and use it" person so please take that into consideration with your replies. I have been using a Compaq Presario CQ62 with Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit for a few years and have been happy with it. However through lots of hard use (I'm a mechanic and it is my shop computer) the plastic housing has broken and I decided its time to get something new.

I bought a Gateway LY4010u (64 bit capable) figuring the smaller size would work better for my needs. After about an hours use I realized the factory 1gb RAM was way too small so I have already replaced it with a 4gb. The netbook came with W7 starter and I wanted Home premium like my Compaq has so I upgraded with the easy upgrade option and it is working well but I would like to get the 64 bit version to tale advadtage of more ram upgrades in the future. I understand that I need to do a clean install however I have no disk drive on the netbook. Is there a way to link the two computers together with either a Ian or Ethernet cable to boot my netbook using the old laptop so that I can get the 64 bit version loaded? Since this is a new computer I haven't loaded any programs or files on it yet, it is still as it came from the factory with the exception of the Windows upgrade. What I am hoping to do off possible is to backup the metbook on the hardrive of the Compaq then install Windows 7 64 bit from the Compaq laptop onto the Gateway netbook. Is this possible?

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Unfortunately you will not be happy with what I have to say.

If the license on your Compaq Presario came pre-installed on the computer then it is OEM and cannot be moved to another computer.