Hit and Miss booting into Widows 7 on new computer

Discussion in 'Windows 7 Support' started by cathyg57, Feb 3, 2010.

  1. cathyg57

    cathyg57

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    I have a brand new HP computer that came with Windows 7 built in it already. Sometimes it gets to the "starting windows" screen then goes to my background screen with no icons or anything else on the page. I wait 5 or 10 minutes and still nothing. So have to power down and back up. Sometimes the 2nd time it will go to the welcome screen, and work fine from there, other times it takes 3 or 4 tries. I exchanged the computer for another one of the same model and this 2nd computer is doing the same thing. A few times I even got a black screen instead of the "starting Windows" screen, but then it went to the welcome screen and worked fine after that. Other times, it starts just fine. Is there a fix for this or do I have to live with it?
    cathyg57, Feb 3, 2010
    #1
  2. cathyg57

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    I would take the computer back to where you bought it and exchange it for another one. Since this is your second HP, I would get an Toshiba. Acer or a Lenovo, much better systems. HP laptops especially are having problems these days.

    Is this a laptop? IF it is, I would get a Toshiba instead. Go in and stand up for your consumer rights! If you got if from Best Buy, don't even let their Geek Squad touch it, all that will do is screw it up royally.

    Be sure to test the replacement in the store to be sure it works properly. Average boot up time is about 45 seconds.
    Nibiru2012, Feb 3, 2010
    #2
  3. cathyg57

    cathyg57

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Hit and Miss booting into Windows 7

    Thanks for your information. It is a desktop and I did buy it at Best Buy. They did test it before I brought it home and they also installed some software for me. I really just hate the idea of exchanging it again and was hoping there was some kind of fix for it. I may just decide to live with it.
    cathyg57, Feb 3, 2010
    #3
  4. cathyg57

    Core all ball, no chain Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,160
    Location:
    Akaa, Finland
    Honestly, that's not normal Windows 7 behavior. And I also don't think it's the hardware... If I had to take a guess, it's more likely to be an issue with the bloatware they load up on those machines.
    Core, Feb 3, 2010
    #4
  5. cathyg57

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    HP has been having some issues with their desktops lately. I truly empathize with you and the hassle you're having to go through.

    That's what they're hoping you'll do! Stand up for your rights and don't let them pull one over on you.

    Core may be right about the bloatware, I also think that you may have bad RAM or a motherboard. This may be due to a bad batch out of the factory in China too. Whatever it is, it's not right and you should have a proper functioning system. You paid your hard earned money for this system and you should expect a proper functioning computer in return.

    Remember, the squeakiest wheel gets the most grease! Don't let Best Buy install anything on it as it will probably screw it up more. Call the store manager or person in charge and have them make this right for you.

    Since it's a desktop, you'll be much better off with a Lenovo or an Acer brand in my opinion.
    Nibiru2012, Feb 4, 2010
    #5

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. CaseyC

    I miss my custom (XP) toolbars...

    CaseyC, Oct 28, 2009, in forum: Customization
    Replies:
    11
    Views:
    2,363
    Veedaz
    Nov 20, 2009
  2. bauer24

    Computer Not Booting After Sleep Mode

    bauer24, Feb 14, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    2,086
    clifford_cooley
    Feb 14, 2010
  3. Sam

    BitLocker Error When Booting Up Computer

    Sam, Apr 21, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    1
    Views:
    1,641
    Dave-UK
    Apr 22, 2011
  4. Unicorn

    No one shoould miss this reading...

    Unicorn, Sep 29, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    258
  5. win2u

    Installing Windows 7 on new computer from old computer

    win2u, Sep 2, 2012, in forum: Installation, Setup and Updates
    Replies:
    4
    Views:
    869
    win2u
    Sep 2, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page