Do you overclock?

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by Ian, Apr 6, 2009.

  1. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    I've got a quad core Q6600 processor at the moment, and it's default clock is 2.4Ghz. At the moment it's running quite happily at 3.0Ghz using air cooling only (Zalman CNPS9500 cooler).

    Was thinking about pushing it a little more, but my temps are around 55C under load so I don't want to try it long term.

    There have been some great CPUs this past few years in terms of overclockability (is that a word!?), so I thought it would be interesting to see who else has.
     
    Ian, Apr 6, 2009
    #1
    1. Advertising

  2. Ian

    Thrax Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Detroit Metro
    I have an SL9S9 Core 2 Duo E6420 from July of 2006. Its default clockspeed is 2.4GHz, but I currently have it running at 3500MHz (6*500). The chip sits in a DFI LanParty DK P35-T2R/S and 4GB of PC2-8000 from G.Skill.

    I've considered a Yorkfield quad on and off, but I thought it would just be best to wait for the Gulftown Core i7s at the end of this year. Mmmm, 32nm.

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

    • cpuz.png
      cpuz.png
      File size:
      47.2 KB
      Views:
      718
    Thrax, Apr 7, 2009
    #2
    1. Advertising

  3. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Did you get it to that just using air cooling? That's a nice overclock :D
     
    Ian, Apr 7, 2009
    #3
  4. Ian

    Thrax Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Detroit Metro
    Yeah, just air. I don't believe in water cooling. :p
     
    Thrax, Apr 7, 2009
    #4
  5. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Me neither - mainly because of leaks! ;)

    Going to try and push mine to 3.2GHz tonight to see if the temps change much.
     
    Ian, Apr 7, 2009
    #5
  6. Ian

    BetaMan Official G33k VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    I can has tutorial? How do I...
    1. Check my current CPU temp
    2. Overclock it
    Too lazy to type specs so check under my avatar.
     
    BetaMan, Apr 9, 2009
    #6
  7. Ian

    BuddyJ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    BetaMan, there are several utilities that can check your CPU's temps. CoreTemp is one of them and it's quite popular. Overclocking is done in your motherboard's BIOS. I'd go into it more, but I doubt your motherboard includes the options needed to overclock. PCChips isn't known for it. You might be able to adjust your Front Side Bus (FSB) some for a minimal overclocking if you're lucky.

    Also, hi everyone. I came here by Thrax's recommendation. My main rig is 4GHz (480 x 8.5) Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 on a DFI Lanparty LT X48-T3RS motherboard with 2GB OCZ ReaperX DDR3-1333 in an Antec Nine Hundred case, cooled by a Xigmatek HDT-1283.
    [​IMG]

    Happy to be here.
     
    BuddyJ, Apr 10, 2009
    #7
    Ian likes this.
  8. Ian

    Thrax Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2009
    Messages:
    925
    Location:
    Detroit Metro
    @Ian: BuddyJ is my editor. :)
     
    Thrax, Apr 10, 2009
    #8
  9. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Welcome to the site BuddyJ :ciao:
     
    Ian, Apr 10, 2009
    #9
    BuddyJ likes this.
  10. Ian

    BetaMan Official G33k VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    I totally disobeyed what buddyj said and overclocked from 2.6GhZ to 2.77GhZ. Not much, but I'm learning.

    PS: What's a safe temperature to be running at?
    coretemp.PNG
    cpuz.PNG
     
    Last edited: Apr 10, 2009
    BetaMan, Apr 10, 2009
    #10
  11. Ian

    BuddyJ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Grats BetaMan. Keep it under 60C at full load. I shoot for in the low to mid 50s.
     
    BuddyJ, Apr 10, 2009
    #11
    BetaMan likes this.
  12. Ian

    BetaMan Official G33k VIP Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    463
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon, USA
    Cool! Thanks!

    EDIT
    I got it at 3.0GhZ!!! Here are the shots.
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 11, 2009
    BetaMan, Apr 11, 2009
    #12
  13. Ian

    For Vista

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Location:
    TN
    overclocking has always been a sensitive subject with me. Unless your running AMD processors or some "aftermarket" manufactured equipment, its really the only hardware that can take excessive stress.
     
    For Vista, Apr 11, 2009
    #13
  14. Ian

    BuddyJ

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    That's not entirely true. You don't have to have "aftermarket" equipment, but it helps if you do. And the processor brand doesn't matter either. As long as there are options on the board or in the BIOS, and as long as you can keep temperatures and voltages at the right levels, there's no reason not to get the most performance you can out of your system.

    The only people who shouldn't be overclocking are people who buy discount pre-assembled systems from big box stores. But once you begin to care about system performance, and can assemble your own rig, there's no reason not to. It's the easiest way to stretch your budget.
     
    BuddyJ, Apr 12, 2009
    #14
  15. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    I've got an Intel Q6600 that runs at 3.0GHz no problem (from 2.4GHz)... I've even got it running at 3.4GHz at the moment but it's a little too hot, so I'll probably drop down a little.

    For the price/performance ratio, an overclocked Q6600 was a bargain CPU when I bought it :)
     
    Ian, Apr 13, 2009
    #15
  16. Ian

    floater

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2009
    Messages:
    13
    Location:
    Wales, GB
    Yes, perhaps you need a better cooling solution. But to say AMD are the only ones that overclock well is simply not true. Some of the best overclockers at the moment, are Intel processors.

    FWIW, many motherboards come with software overclocking now.
     
    floater, Apr 16, 2009
    #16
  17. Ian

    Khaotic

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2009
    Messages:
    9
    Location:
    Near Truman Lake, Missouri
    I totally overclock - hense the website: ClubOverclocker.com
    I DO believe in water cooling - becuase I spend time and put great care into building a quality system and product. No leaks! I've been water cooling for YEARS and have even installed coolers into friends machines who want a quieter and cooler PC.

    Overclocking is a HUGE hobby and with the current spread of motherboards available on the market today - its easier than ever. It's not just a dark art followed by a secret society anymore. Aside from the "PC IN A BOX" Vendors like Dell, most of the aftermarket motherboards you can buy these days allow overclocking. And with a little time in Google and a few select forums, a little bit of reading and the right Overclocking Coach can have you reaping higher clock speeds, better performance, and best of all - you pay next to NOTHING. Ok, so you may have to spend a few extra dollars on a new CPU cooler - becuase stock coolers are not efficient enough to bleed off the heat from overclocking.
    Extra heat, becuase you are going faster! Once you read, you'll understand, Overclocking does not kill a processor. HEAT kills a processor. It's going to get hotter, becuase its going faster. If you manage that extra thermal energy properly, it won't harm your CPU. My experience with AMD is limited, but most "mainstream" model Intel CPUs will give you overclocks that exceed the stock clock speed of the next higher model. That means, you're saving a LOT of money.
    Consider this $350 i7-920 CPU that is runing in excess of the clock stock speeds of the 965 which is priced at $1,000


    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
    Khaotic, Apr 19, 2009
    #17
    Ian and whoosh like this.
  18. Ian

    whoosh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    London
    I should oveclock ?

    I have not really tried to overclock maybe its a vestage from the days of having only 4 meg of ram and an intel processor .
    Will Follow the thread and see how you guys do with the overclocking then maybe put my foot in the water .
    For me stability as always been the key criteria but if things look good am willing to have a go .

    [​IMG] ------------------- The foot in the water bit = bad choice of words ;)

    Nice rig Khaotic
     
    Last edited: Apr 19, 2009
    whoosh, Apr 19, 2009
    #18
  19. Ian

    Ian Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    3,338
    Very nice work there Khaotic, that's a huge overclock! It might sound like a silly question, but what is the wooden block in the bottom right of the pic? Is that just supporting something, or is it a component?

    I can totally understand water cooling if you are really in to the hardware and modding side of computers, as it's good fun to build something like that and make a good job of it. I used to really enjoy modding my old Lian-Li case and added a side window, LCD status display using the parallel port and a hard drive with transparent top (thanks to the use of a clean room and some perspex!).

    Out of interest, how far do you think an air cooled i7 920 could go?
     
    Ian, Apr 19, 2009
    #19
  20. Ian

    whoosh

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    London
    What is the wood for ?

    I may be speaking out of turn but it looks like the wood is surporting the pipes ?

    Must admit it made me want to look into overclocking ;) That is a nice rig :)
     
    whoosh, Apr 19, 2009
    #20
    1. Advertising

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. Christian
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,334
    Christian
    Dec 8, 2011
  2. Pc Geek

    SOLVED How To Overclock In a ASUS Touch Bios

    Pc Geek, Jun 14, 2012, in forum: Hardware
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    1,197
    Pc Geek
    Jun 14, 2012
Loading...

Share This Page