Blue Screen Crashes

Reaction score
I began experiencing random Blue Screen crashes on my Toshiba Portege Z830 laptop. I bought it about 2 weeks ago and it started few days after. Usually, when the laptop is just idle. Once, when I started Thunderbird e-mail.

I am not an expert on Windows, I just use it. Could you help me to detect and correct the problem, please!

Thank you in advance.

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
For help with BSOD's you need to enable minidumps (if they aren't already) and then zip and post them.

Please read this THREAD

It's also a good idea to scan for viruses.

And since you say it only started about two weeks ago, you might look to see if you have a restore point and simply attempt to recover your computer to a point prior to two weeks ago.

Last edited:
Reaction score
I have the minidump enabled but there is no C:\Windows\Minidump folder after the blue screen crash or at least I cannot find it. Is it hidden somewhere?

TrainableMan

^ The World's First ^
Reaction score
Most likely all of your Windows folder is hidden. You will need to change folder options in Windows Explorer.
ShowSysProtectedFiles.jpg

Also once you do get to the file you will not be able to zip it there (because you won't have write access to that folder so it cannot create the zip); usually the easiest thing is to copy it to the desktop and zip it there.

Once you have a dmp file zipped, use advanced reply to attach it to your next post.

And once you finished you might want to restore the settings in Windows Explorer to hide OS files and not show hidden.

Reaction score