Add "Select All" to right click context menu

Discussion in 'Customization' started by LeHaM, Jun 23, 2010.

  1. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
    This guide will show you how to add a "select all" option to windows 7's rightclick menu first open up note pad and paste this into it..

    WScript.CreateObject(“WScript.Shell”).SendKeys “^a”

    And save it as " SelectAll.vbs " (No quotation marks) in youe WINDOWS directory.
    Now open up a new file and paste this into it..

    ECHO WScript.CreateObject("WScript.Shell").SendKeys "^a" > %windir%\SelectAll.vbs
    REG ADD "HKCR\Directory\Background\shell\Select All" /v "Position" /d "Top" /f
    REG ADD "HKCR\Directory\Background\shell\Select All\Command" /d "wscript %windir%\SelectAll.vbs" /f

    And save it as " Add Select All Option.bat " (No quotation marks) where ever you want..
    Now open " Add Select All Option.bat " and it should now give you a select all option in your right click menu..

    Un-installation...

    If for whatever reason you don't want the option any more there is an easy fix. Yet again open up notepad and paste this into it..

    DEL %windir%\SelectAll.vbs
    REG DELETE "HKCR\Directory\Background\shell\Select All" /f

    And save it as " Undo.bat ", Then run it.
    Last edited: Jun 23, 2010
    LeHaM, Jun 23, 2010
    #1
    TrainableMan likes this.
  2. LeHaM

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,650
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Interesting, succinct script.

    How hard would it be to write a script to capture the center mouse-click (under the scroll wheel) and have it perform a double-click? Logitech no longer provides drivers for my old trackball and W7 doesn't offer a method for me to configure it. I have actually found out it isn't ignored though because IE8 (and Firefox) have provided it with functionality I have no use for, I prefer it works as a dbl-click.
    TrainableMan, Jun 23, 2010
    #2
  3. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
    I'll have a look in to it.
    LeHaM, Jun 24, 2010
    #3
  4. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
  5. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
    LeHaM, Jun 24, 2010
    #5
    nighthunder and TrainableMan like this.
  6. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
    LeHaM, Jun 24, 2010
    #6
  7. LeHaM

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    Interesting post, to say the least.

    I'll just stick with using the Edit drop down menu from the Menu bar.
    Nibiru2012, Jun 24, 2010
    #7
  8. LeHaM

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,650
    Location:
    PA, USA
    LeHaM I so owe you! :tee: :beer:

    This has been my biggest annoyance since I installed W7 a few months ago. The first one you listed didn't work when I installed it and the third one, which looks to be her update to the first, gives me a bad link 404 but the second one .... YES ! YES!! YES!!! :party:
    Thank you! :elefant: Thank you!
    :cool: :top:
    TrainableMan, Jun 24, 2010
    #8
  9. LeHaM

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    I can feel the love! LOL!
    Nibiru2012, Jun 24, 2010
    #9
  10. LeHaM

    TrainableMan ^ The World's First ^ Moderator

    Joined:
    May 10, 2010
    Messages:
    7,650
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Hey I can live with the new start menu and I can deal with the new windows explorer but I have been ranting about my middle mouse button since the day I installed so for me this is wonderful.

    Wasn't it a beer commercial here in the USA that made the saying famous, "I luv ya man!", well LeHaM, I luv ya man (In a manly not at all wierd, God wants us to love all our brothers sort of way).

    As for the start menu I have found a few substitutes to be like Classic, tried one I didn't like and have another I may try but to date I'm still using the new W7 start menu (which was really originally introduced and rejected in Win XP).

    And as for Windows Explorer I have KatMouse running to make the scrolling function based on where my mouse is so I don't have to click in the left or right first, which was a stupid change. And I removed Favorites and libraries with a reghack so except for the Desktop and the TrainableMan ( %USERPROFILE%) entries and the organize toolbar up top this is familiar - yes this I can work with.

    Windows 7 is now a very comfortable home :D
    TrainableMan, Jun 24, 2010
    #10
    LeHaM likes this.
  11. LeHaM

    Nibiru2012 Quick Scotty, beam me up! Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2009
    Messages:
    4,955
    Location:
    Planet X
    I use WizMouse and like it very well.
    Nibiru2012, Jun 24, 2010
    #11
  12. LeHaM

    LeHaM

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Location:
    Australia :)
    i do what i can... im happy that you're happy :)
    LeHaM, Jun 25, 2010
    #12

Want to reply to this thread or ask your own question?

It takes just 2 minutes to sign up (and it's free!). Just click the sign up button to choose a username and then you can ask your own questions on the forum.
Similar Threads
  1. ormond

    Registry - Context Menu

    ormond, Feb 10, 2010, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    3
    Views:
    1,298
    Veedaz
    Feb 10, 2010
  2. LeHaM
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    3,485
    Nibiru2012
    Jun 25, 2010
  3. Elmer BeFuddled

    [SOLVED] Add Flip 3D to Context Menu

    Elmer BeFuddled, Oct 24, 2010, in forum: Customization
    Replies:
    10
    Views:
    2,976
    Fire cat
    Oct 24, 2010
  4. Stan Brown

    Unwanted items in context menu

    Stan Brown, Apr 24, 2011, in forum: alt.windows7.general
    Replies:
    6
    Views:
    1,144
    Roy Smith
    Apr 26, 2011
  5. brkkab123

    [SOLVED] Merge right-click context menuproblem

    brkkab123, Nov 1, 2011, in forum: Windows 7 Support
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    1,214
    brkkab123
    Nov 1, 2011
Loading...

Share This Page