Windows 7 Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

Norton Ghost 15 for $25

 
 
Geoffers Geoffers is offline
Established Member
Geoffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 150
Thanked: 17
 
      01-06-2010
May be of more interest to UK buyers, but I came across this site this morning whilst looking for a good deal for Ghost 15!
Ghost 15 BTW is compliant with Windows 7!

http://www.greatest-software.net/shop/item/445/ (Edit by Ian: please read the warning in the post below before following this link)

It's an ISO download of some 320Mb.

Certainly beats the £40 on the Symantec site!
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
Nibiru2012 Nibiru2012 is offline
Quick Scotty, beam me up!
Nibiru2012's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Planet X
Posts: 4,739
Thanked: 1055
 
      01-06-2010
A WORD OF WARNING ABOUT THIS SOFTWARE SITE!

Yep, it's that cheap you won't see it!

A look-up on the URL downloadcompany.org gives 212.117.165.180

This in turn brings this up http://www.malwareurl.com/listing.ph...em-software.cn (notice how all the domains were only registed last month?)

This company has only been around since 12-2-2009, be very wary of this place.

There is NO way this is a legitimate site. Fraud and scam all the way!



Go to this site to see over 80 businesses with the same URL?.....http://www.malwareurl.com/listing.ph...tware-shop.com



Check it out... Adobe CS4 Master Suite for $299? SAVE OVER $2200 ??

Go to any of the above web addresses and you'll see the same style and type of website with the same pricing.

All the websites show the SAME building and address in California!?



You can find the street in Fairfield, CA it's just that the address 162 doesn't exist!



Last edited by Nibiru2012; 01-06-2010 at 04:02 PM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,091
Thanked: 450
Ian's Twitter Pag
 
      01-06-2010
I've de-linked the URL and put a warning next to it, as this does look very suspect. If that is the case it's certainly one of the most convincing sites I have seen. Have you ordered from there already Geoffers?

Thankfully it looks like their billing re-direct page has already been pulled. They also show the Verisign logo without the validation link.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Geoffers Geoffers is offline
Established Member
Geoffers's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: York, UK
Posts: 150
Thanked: 17
 
      01-06-2010
That's it! I've had it with you lot!

I've never posted links without thoroughly testing them. I've bought this piece of software today, together with a valid licence, and installed it . But all it takes is one berk to go over the top.

Thanks for nothing!

Don't bother responding. I won't be around to see it you ungrateful lot!

Last edited by Geoffers; 01-06-2010 at 05:19 PM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,091
Thanked: 450
Ian's Twitter Pag
 
      01-06-2010
I don't understand Geoffers - we're just trying to help you by warning you of a potential scam? Are we supposed to sit back and not say anything to you?
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The ghost in the machine: Speech Recognition Ap has a life of its own food4thought Software 6 10-06-2010 05:27 PM
Video of MJ's Ghost at Neverland Ranch. Or something..... Satchmo Bevins Off-Topic Discussion 2 07-07-2009 04:35 AM
Norton 360 Beta free download for Windows 7 Geoffers Security 8 05-18-2009 05:30 AM
Norton 360 Beta !!! Geoffers Software 2 02-19-2009 12:05 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 05:06 PM.
W7Forums is an independent website and is not affiliated with Microsoft Corporation.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33