Windows 7 Forums


Reply
Thread Tools

Free Multimedia Software - Split Thread

 
 
Digerati Digerati is offline
Established Member
Digerati's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 688
Thanked: 174
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
Have you found any broken links in this one?
Yes, several. Look for links with ... or ~ in them.

But also note something odd going on. If you click on any of the links and watch your address box, it first goes to viglink.com which as can be seen here is used to collect money for affiliates.

Upon further review, I think this is a spamming scam and these lists should be removed now. And if I were in charge, I would ban the user.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
 
BladeRunner BladeRunner is offline
Member
BladeRunner's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Porto - Portugal
Posts: 65
Thanked: 7
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
Yes, several. Look for links with ... or ~ in them.

But also note something odd going on. If you click on any of the links and watch your address box, it first goes to viglink.com which as can be seen here is used to collect money for affiliates.

Upon further review, I think this is a spamming scam and these lists should be removed now. And if I were in charge, I would ban the user.
I don't understand your ideia!
When i click on the links they get me to the respective sites!
Again... i don't know if it's about your USA providers or something else...
Here... Europe, the thing you are talking about, vigilink.com don't happen!
You're all a little "paranoid" about spamm...
It's just a list of links... in one place! No spam intended!
If you follow the links of the foruns i'd posted you don't find nothing like this problems... everybody uses them (this lists) and have no problem!

Tell me what links have the problems you mencioned, please.

Last edited by BladeRunner; 11-18-2010 at 06:35 PM..
 
Reply With Quote
 
Digerati Digerati is offline
Established Member
Digerati's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 688
Thanked: 174
 
      11-18-2010
You first go to viglink.com (for just a split second), then redirected to the download site. I now believe you had no intention of spamming this site, but the original creator sure had profit in mind when he created it.
 
Reply With Quote
 
TrainableMan TrainableMan is offline
^ The World's First ^
TrainableMan's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 4,654
Thanked: 887
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
Yes, several. Look for links with ... or ~ in them.
I found two that came back 404 and removed them.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
But also note something odd going on. If you click on any of the links and watch your address box, it first goes to viglink.com which as can be seen here is used to collect money for affiliates.
I find nothing special in the list of URLs such as redirecting but it's hard to say what the individual sites participate in.
 
Reply With Quote
 
BladeRunner BladeRunner is offline
Member
BladeRunner's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Porto - Portugal
Posts: 65
Thanked: 7
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
You first go to viglink.com (for just a split second), then redirected to the download site. I now believe you had no intention of spamming this site, but the original creator sure had profit in mind when he created it.
Thanks!
Well... i never encoutered that "vigilink.com" problem, even for a split second.
It was the first time i heard about it... here.
About keeping the list updated and replace the broken links... the most certain is after x-mas and new year. This are very occupied days, as you all understand.
 
Reply With Quote
 
Digerati Digerati is offline
Established Member
Digerati's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 688
Thanked: 174
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
I find nothing special in the list of URLs such as redirecting but it's hard to say what the individual sites participate in.
I am using IE9Beta which has enhanced security features to help folks understand where they are going. In IE9, I first see an about:blank page. That should not be there either. I just fired up an IE8 machine and you don't see the quick redirect as IE8 does not have the new address/search box or enhanced security of IE9. So I tried a 3rd system that has Chrome and with that I see the about:blank page for split second before the correct page loads. Again, that should not be there and indicates something peculiar is going on. Since we are talking 3 difference machines here, I don't think it is on my end.
 
Reply With Quote
 
BladeRunner BladeRunner is offline
Member
BladeRunner's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Porto - Portugal
Posts: 65
Thanked: 7
 
      11-18-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Digerati View Post
I am using IE9Beta which has enhanced security features to help folks understand where they are going. In IE9, I first see an about:blank page. That should not be there either. I just fired up an IE8 machine and you don't see the quick redirect as IE8 does not have the new address/search box or enhanced security of IE9. So I tried a 3rd system that has Chrome and with that I see the about:blank page for split second before the correct page loads. Again, that should not be there and indicates something peculiar is going on. Since we are talking 3 difference machines here, I don't think it is on my end.
Well... i'm using updated Mozilla Firefox and have none of those problems.
No vigiLink.com, no about:blank...

But concerning the "about:blank split second problem:
http://discussions.virtualdr.com/arc.../t-149301.html
http://www.windowsbbs.com/general-se...out-blank.html
http://flagfox.servehttp.com/forum/v....php?f=3&t=116
 
Reply With Quote
 
Ian Ian is offline
Administrator
Ian's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,129
Thanked: 456
Ian's Twitter Pag
 
      11-18-2010
I've split these posts off from the original thread to keep it on topic. I've also pasted a reply from the other thread which should clear up the confusion - my appologies!

Quote:
I can clear up the VigLink mystery, as I was contacted by them a few days ago to try out their new advertising system. It affiliates potential outbound links, so that's not the fault of the BladeRunner - he wouldn't have known about it. VigLink hasn't done anything so far, so I'm considering removing it anyway . Sorry for the confusion - I can understand your initial suspicion, I'd have been the same!

As long as the lists are maintained and attributed, then there's no harm in them - I don't doubt BladeRunner was being sincere, although my "spam radar" was going off at first too.

Let's give the thread a chance and see how it turns out . Once people have had a chance to discuss this, I'll split the discussion posts off to a new thread in the feedback forum so that it doesn't detract from the OP.
 
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Security Freeware Software! BladeRunner Security 14 04-04-2012 11:16 AM
Free Multimedia Software! BladeRunner Software 11 11-25-2010 08:01 PM
Software costs/usage limits/value. Mychael General Discussion 4 07-17-2010 09:57 AM
Macrium Reflect: The fastest disk imaging software is now available as a free edition Nibiru2012 Software 4 03-13-2010 10:50 PM
Free AntiVirus Software Ian System Security 0 11-05-2009 04:16 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:22 PM.
W7Forums is an independent website and is not affiliated with Microsoft Corporation.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33